WORKFORCE: Jeff Zitron has been announced as chair designate for the cluster, which incorporates eight primary care trusts.

Three sub-clusters are planned, each with their own chair designate.

Marcia Saunders will cover the role for Brent and Harrow PCTs, Peter Molyneux will cover Hammersmith & Fulham, Kensington & Chelsea and Westminster, with Mr Zitron also chairing the Hounslow, Ealing and Hillingdon sub-cluster.

NHS London interim chair Mike Spyer said: “I welcome the appointment of Jeff Zitron as chair designate of the north west London cluster. This appointment very much builds on the development of the cluster, which began last year under the interim chair Peter Molyneux. Jeff will provide additional support, leadership and scrutiny for local decisions during a challenging time for the NHS.”

Mr Spyer added: “As well as driving up the quality of patient care and services, the cluster will support new GP consortia and make sure the NHS spends its money as effectively as possible. I am sure that Jeff will make a valuable and positive contribution to helping shape the future of the NHS in north west London.”