NHS medical director Sir Bruce Keogh has been appointed to the same post on the NHS Commissioning Board, it was confirmed to HSJ at the organisation’s first meeting today.

He is the first executive appointed to the new body other than chief executive Sir David Nicholson, who was given the role this time last year.

It was also announced the board – which was established as a special health authority in October – has offered NHS Midlands and the East finance director Paul Taylor its “role of designate interim director of finance”.

Meanwhile, Sir David told HSJ he was waiting for Treasury agreement for salary banding of the three levels of senior staff – executive board directors, other national directors and regional leads. He said he hoped to get approval before Christmas and after than he can begin appointments.

The exception is the nursing director, where the board has already been given approval to advertise for the role.

Board chair Malcolm Grant told HSJ the process of appointing three more non-executive directors was underway. He said he wanted the board to feature “stunning” talent from both inside and outside the NHS.

Only one non-executive other than Professor Grant has so far been appointed.

The first board meeting today approved its governance structure. With voting rights on the board there will be: A chair, four other non-executive directors, the chief executive, medical director, chief nursing officer, and finance director.

The non-voting executive directors will be: a chief operating officer, national director for commissioning development, national director for patient and public engagement, insight and informatics, national director for improvement and transformation, national director for policy, corporate development and partnership, and a chief of staff.

The naming of Mr Taylor as interim finance director designate is a further indication NHS deputy chief executive David Flory may not become finance director of the board.

Sir Bruce will remain NHS medical director as well as commissioning board national medical director. The former surgeon was appointed NHS medical director in 2007 and has led work to publish more information on service quality and outcomes in the NHS.