Six NHS leaders have been appointed as trustees on the NHS Confederation board, it has announced today.

The trustees oversee the work of the organisation, which represents both commissioners and providers in the NHS.

The new appointees are:

  • Jonathon Fagge, chief executive, Norwich Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Matthew Kershaw, chief executive, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals Trust chief executive, and who was previously the trust special administrator for South London Healthcare Trust
  • Mark Newbold, chief executive, Heart of England Foundation Trust
  • Prem Singh, chair, Derbyshire Community Health Services Trust
  • Heather Tierney-Moore, chief executive, Lancashire Care Trust, and
  • Owen Williams, chief executive, Calderdale and Huddersfield Foundation Trust

NHS Confederation chair Michael O’Higgins said in a statement: “We’re very pleased to welcome so many talented new trustee members today. Their wealth of skills, enthusiasm and experience will ensure that they can effectively deal with all the challenging issues so vitally important to our members and the broader health system in the 21st century.

“We look forward to working with them as they contribute genuine strength to the board of trustees and bring valuable perspectives. These six appointments are a major benefit for the NHS Confederation and I’m really pleased that we could choose from this very impressive skill base of candidates.”

HSJ at the NHS Confederation conference, 4-6 June