NHS London has named the six primary care trust chief executives who will lead commissioning and performance management of hospital services for the whole city.

London’s 31 PCTs have grouped into six sectors and a chair and chief executive - described to HSJ as an “inner cabinet” - have been appointed for each.

From next month, the sector chief executives will be responsible for acute commissioning, strategic change and service redesign, ensuring there is clinical engagement and leadership and continuing to improve commissioning in their sector.

They are:

  • south east London - Bromley PCT chief executive Simon Robbins;
  • inner north east London - Tower Hamlets PCT chief executive Alwen Williams;
  • outer north east London - Redbridge PCT chief executive Heather O’Meara;
  • north central London - Islington PCT chief executive Rachel Tyndall;
  • north west London - Westminster PCT chief executive Michael Scott;
  • south west London - Wandsworth PCT chief executive Ann Radmore.

NHS London chief executive Ruth Carnall said: “We have some major strategic challenges in our hospitals across London. These need to be faced head on to ensure that all Londoners can access personal, safe, accessible, high quality care.

“Effective commissioning is the way that we will ensure we achieve this in the future. I look forward to working with the six sector chief executives and their colleagues in delivering the healthcare Londoners deserve.”

PCT structures in London have been in question for some time. Health secretary Alan Johnson told HSJ in October that 31 PCTs in London “doesn’t strike me as being the most sensible arrangement”.

London boroughs

NHS London said there was also emphasis on improving at the “borough based” PCT level.

In a statement, it said the sectors “will not diminish local accountability as each one will be required to operate on behalf of, be performance managed by and responsible to, its constituent PCTs”.

“In addition, to reduce health inequalities and improve quality and wellbeing, PCTs must become world class commissioners of primary and community services. Within the sectors this will be achieved by PCTs working with local government partners to strengthen borough based commissioning.”

Sector chairs

  • south east London - Lewisham PCT chair Michael Richardson;
  • inner north east London - Newham PCT chair Marie Gabriel;
  • outer north east London - Waltham Forest PCT chair Afzal Akram;
  • north central London - Islington PCT chair Paula Kahn;
  • north west London - Kensington and Chelsea PCT chair Peter Molyneux;
  • south west London - Richmond and Twickenham PCT chair Sian Bates.