NHS England national director of operations and information Matthew Swindells, NHS Improvement deputy chief executive Bob Alexander and House of Commons health select committee chair Dr Sarah Wollaston have all joined the judges of the 2017 HSJ Awards.

The HSJ Awards are the world’s largest celebration of healthcare excellence. The deadline for entries is this Friday, 28 July.

Other judges for this year’s awards include: NHS England finance director Paul Baumann, Getting it Right First Time lead Professor Tim Briggs, Royal College of Nursing chief executive Janet Davies, Care Quality Commission chief inspector for Primary Care Dr Steve Field, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence chair David Haslam, NHS Improvement medical director Dr Kathy McLean, British Medical Association chair Dr Chand Nagpul and national cancer director Cally Palmer.

Trust chief executives joining the judging panel include: Sheffield’s Sir Andrew Cash, the Royal Free’s Sir David Sloman; and Sarah Jane-Marsh from Birmingham Women and Childrens’ Hospital.

In total, over 90 senior healthcare figures will be judging the Awards’ 21 categories.

The 2017 HSJ Awards will be presented in November.

Swindells, Alexander and Wollaston among 2017 HSJ Awards judges