Nine of the NHS’s best trust leaders have been shortlisted for chief executive of the year at the HSJ Awards 2017

They include leaders from across acute, specialist and community and mental health providers.

Six of the nominees also featured in HSJ’s Top Chief Executives list earlier this year.

The winner will be revealed at a ceremony in London on 22 November.

Chief executive of the year shortlist

  • Sir Andrew Cash, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Jackie Bene, Bolton Foundation Trust
  • Jackie Daniel, University Hospitals Morecambe Bay Foundation Trust
  • Joe Rafferty, Mersey Care Foundation Trust
  • John Lawlor, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear Foundation Trust
  • Mark Brandreth, Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Foundation Trust
  • Peter Herring, Sherwood Forest Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Toby Lewis, Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals Trust
  • Tom Cahill, Hertfordshire Partnership University Foundation Trust

Chief executive of the year contenders announced