The 40th HSJ Awards has celebrated the achievements of 24 winners — and 186 finalists — after a year in which the NHS faced its toughest ever challenges.

Guests watched from home this year as the event went online for the first time. But the sense of occasion was undiminished as stars Lenny Henry and Victoria Derbyshire hosted — with Victoria interviewing the winners live — and Breathe Harmony Choir (Guy’s and St Thomas’ Trust) and Lewisham and Greenwich Trust Choir adding musical performances.

Special messages came in from a variety of well-known names, including: London Mayor Sadiq Khan; Dame Kelly Holmes; TV presenter Clare Balding; former prime minister Gordon Brown; health and social care secretary Matt Hancock; and NHS chief executive Sir Simon Stevens.

Our 107 judges selected the 24 winners, including top chief executive Rob Webster from South West Yorkshire Partnership Foundation Trust; Acute or Specialist Trust of the Year Sherwood Forest Hospitals Foundation Trust; and Mental Heath Trust of the Year Hertfordshire Partnership University Foundation Trust. Our full Top CEOs list is being revealed tomorrow (Thursday).

HSJ editor Alastair McLellan told those watching: “We believe the HSJ Awards to be the largest event of its kind in the world in terms of entry and interest.” He added: ”The pandemic has not seen NHS staff retreat to their bunkers. Instead more staff of all kinds than ever before have thrown themselves into finding new and better ways of doing things.”

Full winners, 2020 HSJ Awards

Chief Executive of the Year - Rob Webster, South West Yorkshire Partnership FT

Acute or Specialist Trust of the Year - Sherwood Forest Hospitals FT 

Mental Health Trust of the Year - Hertfordshire Partnership University FT

Acute Sector Innovation of the Year - University College London and University College London Hospitals FT

Mental Health Innovation of the Year - Lancashire & South Cumbria FT

Primary Care Innovation of the Year - Sevenhills+ Primary Care Network

Connecting Services and Information Award - Healthier Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care System

Digitising Patient Services Initiative - Alder Hey Children’s FT

Driving Efficiency through Technology Award - University Hospital of North Midlands, Midlands Partnership FT, Health2Works, Simple Shared Health and Signum Health

Freedom to Speak up Organisation of the Year - Leeds Community Healthcare Trust

NHS Workplace Race Equality Award - East London FT

Staff Engagement Award - Alder Hey Children’s FT

Workforce Initiative of the Year - King’s College Hospital FT

System Leadership Initiative of the Year - West Yorkshire and Harrogate Health and Care Partnership

Patient Safety Award - Cambridgeshire and Peterborough FT

Environmental Sustainability Award - Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals Trust

NHS Communications Initiative of the Year Award - NHS Find Your Place

System Led Support for Carers Award - Devon County Council and Devon CCG

Health and Local Government Partnership Award - Healthy London Partnership and Greater London Authority

Integrated Care Partnership of the Year - Guy’s and St Thomas’ FT

Military and Civilian Health Partnership Award - Mesothelioma UK

HSJ Partnership of the Year - Kite, a Gilead Company, NHS England and NHS Partners

Clinical Leader of the Year - Jalak Shukla, Federated4Health, Haringey GP Federation

Primary care networks, GP or Community Provider of the Year - MoreLife UK