New leaders for two sustainability and transformation plan patches have been confirmed, with one of the most well known leads stepping aside.

Sarah Blow was appointed as the joint chief officer of the five south west London clinical commissioning groups at the end of last year. An NHS England London spokeswoman told HSJ she will become STP lead for that patch when she takes up the post later this month, following the departure of Richmond CCG chief officer Kathryn Magson.

Meanwhile, Helen Pettersen was announced early this year as the first joint chief officer of the five north central London CCGs. NHS England London said that when she takes up the role next month, she will become STP lead for the patch.

In that role she will replace Royal Free London Foundation Trust chief executive Sir David Sloman. Sir David was ranked second in HSJ’s top chief executives list last month.

Last year, NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens suggested that the north central area may develop into “the NHS equivalent of combined authorities”. Although the CCGs have appointed a joint chief, no new structure has been put in place which also includes provider trusts.

Other areas which need to confirm new STP leads include Surrey Heartlands – whose lead is leaving to become the chief officer of three CCGs in the south west – and Birmingham and Solihull, where the lead, Birmingham City Council chief executive Mark Rogers, is retiring.