• Additional trusts in covid hotspots such as Kent and London to start giving covid vaccine
  • A total of 18 trusts have been added to the vaccine programme, bringing the total number of hospitals up to 82

Several NHS trusts in covid hotspot areas will start receiving batches of the vaccine for the first time, according to NHS England.

Barts Health Trust, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells and Bedfordshire FT are among the latest set of trusts that will start providing the covid vaccine to over 80s and health and care staff.

These three trusts all operate in tier four areas with the highest rate of covid.

NHS England has added dozens of trusts operating across tier two, three and four areas to its list of hospital vaccination hubs today – the third set to be announced since the vaccination programme began on 8 December.

Before today’s announcement, healthcare staff at Barts Health had raised concerns their hospitals were not yet part of the mass vaccination programme, particularly as Royal London Hospital had the highest number of covid patients in the city. 

During a press conference this week prime minster Boris Johnson said around 500,000 people had received their first dose of the Pfizer/BionTech vaccine over the past two weeks,.

A vaccination programme has also launched across primary care, with more than 400 GP-led sites delivering the vaccine to patients.

Trusts added to the hospital hub vaccination programme this week

Barts Health – tier 4

Bedfordshire Hospitals FT – tier 4

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital – tier 4

Dartford and Gravesham FT – tier 4

Imperial College Healthcare Trust – tier 4

London North West University Healthcare – tier 4

Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells – tier 4

North Middlesex university Hospital – tier 4

University College London FT – tier 4

County Durham and Darlington FT – tier 3

University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay FT – tier 3

East Sussex Healthcare FT – tier 2

Gateshead Health FT – tier 2

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh FT – tier 3

North Tees and Hartlepool – tier 2

Northumbria Healthcare – tier 2

Warrington and Halton Teaching Hospitals FT – tier 2

Western Sussex Hospitals FT – tier 2

Trusts already part of the programme:

Mid and South East Essex FT

Milton Keynes University Hospital FT

East Suffolk and North Essex FT

North West Anglia FT

James Paget University Hospitals FT

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals FT

Cambridge University Hospital FT

East and North Hertfordshire Trust

Royal Free London FT

Guy’s and St Thomas’ FT

Croydon Health Services

St George’s University Hospitals FT

King’s College Hospital FT

Walsall Healthcare Trust

Chesterfield Royal Hospital FT

Sherwood Forest Hospitals FT

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire Trust

University Hospitals North Midlands Trust

Northampton General Hospital Trust

University Hospitals of Derby and Burton FT

United Lincolnshire Hospitals Trust

Shrewsbury and Telford Trust

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals FT

North Cumbria Integrated Care FT

Hull University Teaching Hospitals Trust

The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals FT

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

South Tees NHS Trust

Wirral University Teaching Hospital

Liverpool University Hospitals FT

Countess of Chester Hospital FT

Salford Royal FT

Stockport FT

Blackpool Teaching Hospital

Lancashire Teaching Hospital Trust

Frimley Health FT

Oxford University Hospitals FT

East Kent Hospitals FT

Royal Sussex County Hospital

Portsmouth University Hospitals Trust

Royal Surrey FT

Yeovil District Hospital FT

Dorset County Hospital FT

Royal Cornwall Trust

University Hosptials Plymouth

Great Western Hosptials FT

Gloucestershire Hospitals FT

North Bristol NHS Trust

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals trust

University Hospitals Birmingham

Leicester University Hospitals Trust

Bradford teaching Hospitals Trust

Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals

Manchester University FT

East Lancashire Hospitals

Medway FT

Berkshire Healthcare FT

Royal Devon Exeter