STRUCTURE: The Birmingham and Solihull PCTs had said there are five emerging clinical commissioning groups in their area - down from a previous 12 hopeful groups.

The new groups and their chairs are:

  • Sandwell and West Birmingham: Dr Nick Harding
  • Birmingham South Central: Dr Andrew Coward
  • Forward Health: Dr Tony Ainsworth
  • Birmingham Health: Dr Gavin Ralston
  • Solihull Health: Dr Anand Chitnis

The PCT Cluster said, “each of the CCGs is in the process of agreeing membership”.

A statement said: “Now that CCGs have formed themselves into what is believed to be a more permanent arrangement, the cluster board is working to delegate all budgets relating to CCGs to these groups and  [plans to] have agreement in place… from April 2012.”

The cluster had previously identified several of its GP groups were at a high risk of not being authorised.