Health secretary Alan Johnson has made three appointments to the board of the Appointments Commission.

Betty Thayer, deputy chair of Exec-Appointments, and Jill Robertson, former chief executive of three Barkers Norman Broadbent Group businesses, have been appointed as new non-executive directors.

Margaret Scott, former chair of East Hampshire primary care trust, has been appointed to the combined role of commissioner and non-executive director.