The following were among those who received awards in the New Year's honours list for their contribution to health services


Alfred Cuschieri, professor of surgery, Dundee University;

John Pattison, dean, University College London Medical School, and chair, Spongiform Encepalopathy Advisory Committee.


Romola Christophersen, director of press and publicity, Department of Health.


Mary Uprichard OBE, president, United Kingdom Central Council for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting.


Cairns Aitken, lately chair, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh trust; William Banks, lately chair of council, Royal Postgraduate Medical School;

Michael Brindle, consultant radiologist, King's Lynn and Wisbech Hospitals trust, and president, Royal College of Radiologists;

John Cameron, emeritus professor of renal medicine, United Medical and Dental Schools, Guy's Hospital, London; John Cash, national medical and scientific director, Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service;

John Davies MBE, chair, Health Promotion Wales;

William Fraser, professor in learning disabilities, University of Wales College of Medicine; Kenneth Harrap, lately director, Cancer Research Campaign centre for cancer therapeutics;

Malcolm Harris, head, resource allocation and funding team, Department of Health;

Catherine McLoughlin, chair, Bromley health authority;

Lotte Newman OBE, GP and president, Royal College of General Practitioners;

Peter Westland, vice-chair, Wandsworth Community Health trust.


George Bruce, chair, Caithness and Sutherland trust;

Mary Cropper, director of operations, Community Healthcare Bolton trust;

James Everitt, chair, Centre for Applied Microbiology and Research;

Gwilym Griffith, senior consultant surgeon and medical director, Glan Hafren trust, Gwent; Richard Heald, consultant surgeon, North Hampshire Hospitals trust;

Helena Kellaway, section head, Department of Health;

Brian Kirby, chair, Advisory Board on Homoeopathic Products;

Ronnie Levine, dentist and scientific adviser to the Health Education Authority;

Shelagh Murphy, international secretary, Royal College of Nursing;

Bernard Rowe TD, director, division of enteric pathogens, Central Public Health Laboratory; John Searle, consultant anaesthetist, Exeter Health trust;

Paul Strickland, medical manager, the Paul Strickland Scanner Centre, London; Barbara Thomas, programme manager and director of training, Jarvis Breast Screening Diagnostic and National Training Centre, Surrey;

Judith Waterman, speech and language therapy officer, Department of Health;

Barbara Wilson, senior scientist, applied psychology unit, Medical Research Council;

John Woodcock, clinical director of medical physics and bioengineering, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff;

Helen Zealley, director of public health, Lothian health board.


Jennifer Bryce, principal, Bobath Centre for Children with Cerebral Palsy, London;

Christine Carmichael, diabetic nurse specialist, Kirkcaldy Acute Hospitals trust;

William Cooper, lately senior scientific officer, Dundee University;

Margaret Dundas, member, Lothian health council;

Mala Fernando, healthcare attendant (outpatients), Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children trust;

Elizabeth Fisher, superintendent physiotherapist, Inverclyde Royal Hospital;

Michael Hendry, GP, Fife; Michael Hunter, GP, Shetland; Margaret Irving, theatre/ outpatient sister, Lawson Memorial Hospital, Golspie; Monawar Khan, GP, London;

Valerie Lake, midwife, Hartlepool and East Durham trust;

Maxwell Lowe, senior finance assistant, St George's Healthcare trust, London.

William Marson, GP, London; Diane Simpson, section head, Department of Health;

Darshan Suri JP, GP, London; Rose Towse, deputy director of nursing, Mayday Healthcare trust, Croydon;

Rita Watret, lately personal assistant to the chair and general manager, Dumfries and Galloway health board;

Diana Wincott, principal, Guy's Hospital School of Dental Nursing, London.