in person new year honours

Published: 08/01/2004, Volume II4, No. 5886 Page 35

Rabbi Julia Neuberger, outgoing King's Fund chief executive, is appointed a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to the NHS and other public bodies.

Professor Alasdair Breckenridge CBE, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency chair, is appointed Knight Bachelor.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) Dr Maureen Baker, honorary secretary, Royal College of GPs, and director of primary care, National Patient Safety Agency.For services to medicine.

Dr Lindsey Davies, regional director of public health, east Midlands, Department of Health.

Dr Andrew Holt, head, information services group, DoH.

Dr John Marshall, regional commissioner, NHS Appointments Commission.For services to the NHS.

Elizabeth McEvilly, clinical nurse, paediatric diabetes.For services to children with diabetes.

David Nicholson, chief executive, Birmingham and the Black Country strategic health authority.For services to the NHS.

Bernard Ribeiro, consultant general surgeon, Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals trust.For services to medicine.

Joan Ruddock OBE, chair, Belfast City Hospital Health and Social Services trust.For services to healthcare and to the community.

Eileen Sills, director of nursing and quality, Whipps Cross University Hospital trust.For services to the NHS.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) Dorcas Olanike Akeju, community midwife.For services to healthcare.

Jane Barrie, chair, Dorset and Somerset strategic health authority.For services to the NHS.

Martin Bruce, operations director, Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service. For services to the Blood Transfusion Service.

Margaret Foster, chief executive, Pontypridd and Rhondda trust.

For services to the NHS in Wales and to equal opportunities.

Margaret Goose, chief executive, the Stroke Association.

For services to healthcare.

Nancy Hallett, chief executive, Homerton Hospital, London.

For services to the NHS.

Professor Mary Henry, nursing consultant.For services to nursing in Scotland.

John Humphreys, acting director of employment relations, Royal College of Nursing.For services to the NHS.

Paul Marks, national secretary, Unison.For services to the NHS.

Professor Elizabeth Miller, head, immunisation department, Health Protection Agency communicable disease surveillance centre.

For services to public health medicine.

Dora Kwatiorkor Opoku, head of department of midwifery, City University, London.For services to midwifery.

Stephen Powell, chief executive, SIGN.For services to deaf people.

Heather Rogers, senior civil servant, DoH.

Elizabeth Sargeant, physiotherapist.For services to the NHS.

Dr Peter Smith, chair, National Association of Primary Care, and GP, Kingston upon Thames, Surrey.For services to medicine.

Dr Margaret Spittle, consultant clinical oncologist, Middlesex Hospital and St John's Institute of Dermatology, St Thomas'Hospital.For services to medicine.

Dr Beatrix Wonke, consultant haematologist. For services to medicine.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) Carol Ann Bardy, patient affairs officer, York Hospitals trust.

For services to the NHS.

Jill Bartrop, for services to deaf people and the NHS in north Sheffield.

Dr John Beal, consultant.For services to dental public health in west Yorkshire.

Mavis Butler, for services to health and the community in Burnley, Lancashire.

Christine Court, head, occupational therapy, Bro Morgannwg trust.For services to the NHS in Wales.

Dr Agnelo Teles Fernandes, GP, Croydon, Surrey.For services to healthcare.

Dr Ian Gibson, GP, Braintree, Essex.For services to healthcare.

Dr Rosemary Anne Leonard, broadcaster and GP, south London.

For services to healthcare.

Myra McDonald Minty, nurse.For services to nursing in north-east Scotland.

Dr Carol Ann Norris, consultant. For services to geriatric medicine.

Margaret Pinson, senior nurse, child protection.For services to social care in Salford.

Mavis Powys, lately medical receptionist, Caerau, Bridgend.

For services to healthcare.

Joan Rees, Mental Health Act manager, Cardiff and Vale trust.

For services to the NHS.

Elizabeth Lawrie Renfrew, physiotherapist.For services to physiotherapy on Islay and Jura.

Cynthia Rickitt, chair, South of Tyne and Wearside Mental Health trust.For services to the NHS.

John Robinson, for services to mental health in the London borough of Bromley and East Kent.

Norma Russell, breast care specialist nurse, Bradford Hospitals trust.For services to healthcare.

Ethel Orr Simpson, orthopaedic scheduler, Victoria Infirmary, Glasgow.For services to the NHS in Scotland.

Lynda Speake, outpatient manager, Princess Royal Hospital.

For services to the NHS in Telford.

Kenneth Tomlinson, lately chief executive, Department of Health and Social Security (Isle of Man).For services to health on the Isle of Man.

Jessie Twigg, lately personal secretary, Health Department, Scottish Executive.

Richard Wiggin, head gardener, Royal Shrewsbury Hospitals trust.For services to the NHS.