Published: 27/06/2002, Volume II2, No.5811Page 39

A selection of the health professionals who were awarded queen's jubilee birthday honours

Ron De Witt, chief executive, North West London strategic health authority, has been knighted for services to the NHS.

Dr Sue Atkinson regional director public health and medical director, London, has been made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

Knights Professor Peter Bell, professor of surgery, Leicester University, for services to surgery.

Professor Peter Lachmann, president of the Academy of Medical Sciences, London, for services to medical science.

Professor John Lilleyman, head, paediatric haematology and oncology, Barts and the London School of Medicine, for services to pathology.

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB) Peter Garland, director of health and social care, north.

Godfrey Robson, policy director, health department, Scottish Executive.

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) Ruth Deech, lately chair, Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority. for services to the HFEA Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) John Buckels, consultant hepatobiliary and transplant surgeon, Queen Elizabeth and Children's hospitals, Birmingham, for services to transplant surgery.

Dr David Harper, chief scientist, public health and clinical quality directorate, Department of Health.

Rebecca Howard for services to nursing and healthcare management, director of nursing, Royal Liverpool Children's trust.

Professor Ann-Louise Kinmonth, professor of general practice, Cambridge University, for services to primary care research and development.

Professor William Peeling for services to urology, Royal Gwent Hospital.

Cliff Prior, chief executive, National Schizophrenia Fellowship, for services to healthcare.

Professor Robert Shaw, lately president, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, for services to medicine.

Malcolm Stamp, chief executive, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital trust, for services to healthcare.

Professor Alison Tierney, head of department, nursing studies, Edinburgh University, for services to nursing research and education.

Dr Diana Walford, director, Public Health Laboratory Service, for services to public health.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) Pamela Buckley, specialty manager, urology and renal services, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals trust, for services to healthcare.

Catherine Caldwell, director of midwifery and deputy director, Nursing Trust, Royal Devon and Exeter Health Care trust, for services to modern retention initiatives.

Dr Jacky Chambers, director of public health, Birmingham health authority, for services to public health medicine.

Robin Farmer, chair, Mid-Cheshire Hospitals trust, for services to healthcare.

Dr Pearl Hettiaratchy, consultant, Royal Hampshire County Hospital, for services to old-age psychiatry.

Janet Husband, professor of diagnostic radiology, Royal Marsden trust and Institute of Cancer Research, for services to cancer imaging.

Paul Jenkins, national project manager, NHS Direct.

Denis Jessopp, chair, Gwent Healthcare trust, for services to the NHS.

Thomas Macadam, dental surgeon, Glasgow, for services to dentistry.

Ewan MacDonald, senior lecturer, Glasgow University, for services to occupational medicine.

Andrew Morris, chief executive, Frimley Park Hospital trust, for services to the NHS.

Elizabeth Morrison, lead cancer support nurse, Kingston trust, for services to cancer patients.

Margaret Murray, nurse consultant, orthopaedic nursing practice, South Tees Hospital trust, for services to healthcare.

John Owens, chief executive, Lanarkshire Acute Hospitals trust, for services to the NHS.

Arabinda Palit, lately consultant paediatrician, Pembrokeshire and Derwen trust, for services to medicine.

David Pigott, chief executive, Lanarkshire board, for services to healthcare and to local government.

Michael Powell, director of human resources and chief nursing adviser, Grampian board.

Stella Price, chair, Dyfed Powys HA, for services to the NHS.

Beth Taylor, manager, community services pharmacy, Southwark primary care trust, for services to the NHS.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) Dr David Abrahamson, lately consultant psychiatrist, for services to medicine, London.

Christopher Chambers, manager, Somerset Partnership mental health team, for services to social and healthcare.

Peter Conlan, public health manager, Trent regional office.

Carys Davies, national project manager, Defibrillators in Public Places Initiative.

Donald Gartside, director of estates, Oldham trust and Rochdale Healthcare trust, for services to the NHS.

Gillian Gomery, senior nurse, registration and inspection officer, Gwent HA, for services to the NHS.

Dr Mohammed Rahman, chair, North East Wolverhampton primary care group, for services to primary care.

Betty Wood, clinical nurse specialist, Prince Charles Hospital, Merthyr Tydfil, for services to specialist respiratory nursing.