HSJ is delighted to reveal the winners of the HSJ Awards 2013, announced on Tuesday.

HSJ Awards 2013

Lynda Hamlyn of NHS Blood and Transplant has been named Chief Executive of the Year at the 2013 HSJ Awards.

The HSJ Awards, announced at a ceremony in London on Tuesday evening, celebrate healthcare excellence and innovation in a year that has presented many challenges arising from a changing landscape.

Among the winners were Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG, which scooped Clinical Commissioning Group of the Year for its strong collaborative approach; and Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust, which won Provider Trust of the Year in recognition of the quality of its patient experience.

This year also marked the introduction of a new category, Compassionate Patient Care, which health minister Norman Lamb, on behalf of health secretary Jeremy Hunt, awarded to Derby Hospitals Foundation Trust for its integrated partnership working over elderly patient care.

Announcing the winners, HSJ editor Alastair McLellan said: “2013 will be remembered as the year the Francis report exposed the full scale of the care failings at Mid Staffordshire Foundation Trust.

“There can surely be no better time, then, to recognise and celebrate those healthcare organisations working to ensure compassion is at the centre of everything they do.”

In total, 1,101 entries were received from 139 organisations. Winners were announced at an evening event held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Tuesday, 19 November.

HSJ Awards 2013 winners

  • Compassionate Patient Care – Derby Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Acute Sector Innovation – The Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals Trust
  • Board Leadership – Winner: University College London Hospitals Foundation Trust; highly commended (HC): Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership Trust
  • Clinical Research Impact – Winner: Sussex Partnership Foundation Trust; HC: Barts Health Trust
  • Creating Sustainable NHS Providers – Nottingham CityCare Partnership
  • Enhancing Care by Sharing Data and Information – University Hospitals of Leicester Trust with Nervecentre Software
  • Improved Partnerships between Health and Local Government – Care Plus Group; HC: Wirral Community Trust
  • Improving Care with Technology – Winner: Chelsea and Westminster Hospital Foundation Trust; HC: St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals Trust Health Informatics Service
  • Improving Environmental and Social Sustainability – Winner: Barts Health Trust; HC: Mid Essex Hospital Services Trust
  • Innovation in Mental Health – Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys Foundation Trust
  • Managing Long Term Conditions – Kernow Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Patient Safety – Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children Foundation Trust
  • Primary Care and Community Service Redesign – Care Plus Group; HC: County Durham and Darlington Foundation Trust, Durham County Council and Northumbrian Water
  • Primary Care Innovation – Leeds Community Healthcare Trust
  • Quality and Productivity – Winner: The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust; HC: South Warwickshire Foundation Trust
  • Secondary Care Service Redesign – Winner: Southend University Hospital Foundation Trust; HC: Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust
  • Staff Engagement – Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh Foundation Trust
  • Workforce – Winner: Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals Trust; HC: East Kent Hospitals University Foundation Trust
  • Clinical Leader of the Year – Professor Simon Kay, The Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust
  • Chief Executive of the Year – Lynda Hamlyn, NHS Blood and Transplant
  • Clinical Commissioning Group of the Year – Winner: Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group; HC: West Leicestershire Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Provider Trust of the Year – Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust