HSJ has celebrated the best in healthcare at its annual awards ceremony, held last night at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. The hundreds of entries received showed the determination of staff to promote excellence.

Winners included NHS North West, winner of the Workforce Development category for its ambitious plan to be totally compliant with the European working time directive a year ahead of the rest of the country, Primary Care Organisation of the Year Sandwell primary care trust, and Acute Organisation of the Year Cambridge University Hospitals foundation trust.

The Secretary of State’s Award for Excellence in Healthcare Management was awarded to Tameside and Glossop PCT for its community-based service for patients suffering from lymphoedema.

Health secretary Alan Johnson said: “I felt this was a really ground-breaking project. It’s a service that is not routinely provided by the NHS but it will have a major impact on patients’ lives.”

More than 1,300 guests including Mr Johnson and health minister Ben Bradshaw attended the awards, which were presented by comedian Dara O’Briain.

Read more about the winners and finalists