Published: 12/09/2002, Volume II2, No. 5822 Page 40

Thirty-five of the biggest names in health and social care will be judging this year's HSJ Health Management Awards.

Julia Neuberger (below), chief executive of the King's Fund, Simon Stevens (right), health advisor to the prime minister, and NHS chief executive Nigel Crisp (left), will be the judges for the Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Healthcare Management, a new category for this year's event.

A complete list of categories, judges and sponsors is below.

The closing date for entries is Friday 13 September.For an application pack or further information, contact amanda. james@emap. com JOINT WORKING Judges: Mike Leadbetter, president, Association of Directors of Social Services, and Denise Platt, chief inspector of social services.

Sponsored by the Health Development Agency, represented by chair Yve Buckland.

CLINICAL GOVERNANCE Judges: Professor Sir Ian Kennedy, who chaired the Bristol inquiry, and chief medical officer Professor Sir Liam Donaldson.

Sponsored by Boston Scientific, represented by European regional director Milena Duvnjak.

TRAINING Judges: Bob Fryer, chief executive, NHS University, and Penny Humphris, acting director, NHS Leadership Centre.

IMPROVING PATIENT ACCESS Judges: Dr Paul Zollinger Read, director of demand management, National Patients Access Team, and Marianne Rigge, director of the College of Health.

Sponsored by the New Health Network, represented by Margaret Mythen.

IMPROVING CARE WITH E-TECHNOLOGY Judges: Mark Outhwaite, chief executive, Avon, Gloucestershire and Wiltshire strategic health authority, and BMA IT committee chair Dr Paul Cundy.

Sponsored by BT, represented by head of market management Peter Dyke.

MENTAL HEALTH Judges: Anthony Sheehan, joint branch head for mental health services, Department of Health, and Professor Louis Appleby, national director for mental health.

Sponsored by the Sainsbury Centre for Mental Health, represented by director Dr Matt Muijen.

PRIMARY CARE Judges: David Colin Thomé, national director of primary care, policy and planning at the DoH, and Tony Lewis, community clinical teacher, Peninsula Medical School.

Sponsored by Pfizer, represented by Steve Jamieson, policy development manager, corporpate and public affairs.

PARTNERSHIP WITH INDUSTRY Judges: Mark Britnell, chief executive, University of Birmingham Hospital trust, and Valerie Day, director of external and corporate affairs, NHS Modernisation Agency.

Sponsored by Carillion plc, represented by Clive Moorman, head of private finance initiative.

COMMUNICATIONS Judges: Nick Court, project director, communications, DoH, and Steve O'Neill, deputy director, Clinical Governance Support Team.Sponsored by Citigate, represented by executive director Kate Cutler.

RECRUITMENT AND RETENTION Judges: Dr Beverley Malone, general secretary of the Royal College of Nursing, and David Amos, NHS head of recruitment and retention at the DoH.

Sponsored by TMP, represented by Lynn McGill, national sector head, NHS.

SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT Judges: Andy Davey, head of policy, environment and risk management, NHS purchasing and supply agency, and Dominic Harrison, regional associate director, health development agency.Sponsored by the King's Fund, represented by Anna Coote, programme director for public health.