Dallas Ariotti, currently director of clinical governance and information for University Hospital Birmingham trust, has been appointed to a new post as director of performance at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital trust. A former nurse, Ms Ariotti's previous roles have included that of principal adviser to the health minister in her native Australia.

Jim Bosworth has been appointed director of mental health and learning disabilities for East and West Surrey health authorities on secondment until next March.

He will work across HAs, trusts, primary care groups and social services to ensure appropriate devolution of commissioning services to primary care.

Board members for the National Patient Safety Agency include Arnold Simanowitz, chief officer of Action for Victims of Medical Accidents; Diane Hayter, chief executive of cancer charity Pelican and a member of the Dr Foster committee; Tricia Murphy-Black, Scotland's first professor of midwifery; Dr Palimar Prabhu , medical director of Fairfield General Hospital;

Dr Diane Miller, consultant anaesthetist and medical adviser to Capsticks solicitors; Gilbert Smith, former deputy director of research and development at the Department of Health; and Susan Leggate, chair of Epping Forest primary care trust.

Jane Farleigh, head of the clinical quality improvement branch at the National Assembly for Wales, is to become assistant director for clinical governance reviews at the Commission for Health Improvement.

Helen Nellis, a barrister and academic, will take up post as chair of Bedford Hospital trust from December. She is a former non-executive director of the trust and currently chairs Bedfordshire health authority.

Caroline Langridge , an independent health consultant, has been appointed as a non-executive director of Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals trust. She spent five years as head of the NHS women's unit.

Andrew Curl has become deputy director general of the Association for the British Pharmaceutical Industry. He was director and vice-president of European strategic development at SmithKline Beecham.