Marian Ridley has been appointed joint director of partnership and planning at Guy's and St Thomas'Hospital trust. She will job share with the existing director, Jackie Parrott. It means Ms Ridley will leave her current role as associate director at Merton, Sutton and Wandsworth health authority to start the new post in January next year.

Ron Hopkins is to become medical director at Bolton Hospitals trust where he has been consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist since 1983.Until his appointment as trust medical director he was also chair of the medical staff committee in Bolton.He will replace David Spurr, who has retired.

Moray Allan and James Duncan have been appointed to the board of Northgate and Prudhoe trust.Mr Allan becomes director of nursing, moving from Tayside primary care trust.Mr Duncan will be director of finance and performance measurement.He was formerly deputy director of finance with South Tyneside Health Care trust.

Dr Charles Gutteridge, medical director at Newham Healthcare trust, is to become the new medical director of Barts and the London trust.

John Parker has been appointed chair of the new Rushmoor and Hart primary care trust in Hampshire.He has previously worked as a senior civil servant in the Department of Health.

Marc Seale will be the registrar of the Health Professions Council when the council sheds its shadow status next year.He has been a non-executive director at three trusts since 1996.

Four chief executives have been appointed to Leeds's new primary care trusts, due to start in April 2002.

Chris Reid, executive manager of the five primary care groups in Leeds, will take over Leeds West PCT.Lesley Smith, currently head of health systems, partnerships and social inclusion at the Department of Health, will head Leeds North West PCT.Dumfries and Galloway health board deputy chief executive Thea Stein will take over Leeds North PCT. Liam Hughes will join Leeds East PCT from his post as director of social services and community development at Bradford metropolitan district council.