Joanna Spicer has been re-appointed chair of Suffolk health authority. She has been chair of the HA since it was founded and will now continue until March 2002.

Bob Waterton is the new chair of East Midlands ambulance service. He had been chair of Leicester General Hospital trust, which merged with two other city trusts on 1 April, and is principal lecturer in economics at DeMontfort University, Leicester.

Brian Harrison has been appointed chair of Manchester health authority, where he has been a non-executive director since 1994. He has been acting chair since Professor Joan Higgins was appointed as regional chair, and serves on the South Manchester primary care group.

Liverpool health authority chair Judith Greensmith has been re-appointed until 2004. She has been in post since 1996 and was previously chair of Liverpool Women's Hospital trust.

Myra Pearce has been re-appointed chair of Wirral health authority. She was previously chair of Wirral FHSA and is a qualified nurse and midwife.

Alan Maden has been re-appointed as chair of Bury and Rochdale health authority, having been in post since its creation in 1996. He was formerly chair of the district HA before the merger and has served as chair of a hospice at Little Hulton for the past 10 years.

Stockport trust, which comes into operation on 1 April from the merger of Stockport Healthcare trust and Stockport Acute Services trust, will have Robina Shah as chair. Ms Shah, a psychologist, was appointed a non-executive director of Greater Manchester ambulance service in 1993.

Gerry McSorley has been appointed chief executive of Nottingham City Hospital trust. He will succeed Thelma Holland at the end of April, when she moves to become chief executive of Cornwall and Isles of Scilly health authority. He is currently acting chief executive for the new University Hospitals of Leicester trust.