Janardan Sofat has been appointed as the new chair of Medway trust. He is a councillor and school governor and until recently was a nonexecutive director ofWest Kent health authority.Mr Sofat succeeds Tony Clayton, who has become dean of Greenwich University's Dartford and Medway faculty.

University Hospital Birmingham trust has appointed Peter Shanahan as director of finance.He joined the trust in 1995 as controller of finance and previously held posts at North Birmingham health authority and KPMG.He succeeds Tom Taylor, who has joined consultancy After Today Management.

Peter Bodden has been appointed administrator of a new medical services unit in the Cayman Islands, the Chrissie Tomlinson Memorial Hospital in George Town.He takes up his post in July, leaving Stockwell Lodge Medical Centre in Cheshunt, Hertfordshire, where he has been general manager since 1997.

Phil Browne has been appointed Healthy Hospitals project manager by Stockport trust. In his new role he will co-ordinate initiatives designed to make Stepping Hill Hospital a healthier place to work and v isit . He was prev iously at the John Radcl iffe Hospita l in Oxford , where he worked as a physiologist and conducted post-graduate research.

Jane Winder is the new chair of City and Hackney Community Services trust, replacing Donald Main, who has been acting chair for the last year.Ms Winder is chief executive of One World Action, a charitable third world development agency.

Retired police chief superintendent Laurence Doust is joining West Surrey health authority as a non-executive director.He is a school governor and chair of Spelthorne Victim Support scheme.

He also chairs the violent-crime task group of the Spelthorne crime and disorder reduction strategy.

Former nurse Jean Garlick is the new chair ofWigan and Bolton health authority. She is support services manager for mental health voluntary organisation Making Space and has been a member ofWigan and Leigh community health council since 1992 and chair since 1996.

Caroline Rich has been appointed as a non-executive director ofWest Sussex HA.She has worked closely with the NHS and voluntary organisations, most recently as chair of Mid Downs community health council primary and community care working group.

Two new non-executive directors of Lambeth Southwark and Lewisham HA are Stephen Bubb, director of personnel and administration at the National Lottery Charities Board, and Bryan Lymbery, lay member on North Lewisham primary care group, and until recently director and chief officer of the Chartered Society of Designers.Chair Linda Smith has been re-appointed.

Keep us posted

Please send details of senior appointments, indicating whether a photograph is available, to Lyn Whitfield at HSJ, Greater London House, Hampstead Road, London NW1 7EJ, or fax 020-7874 0254, or e-mail: lynw@healthcare. emap. co. uk Items are entered free but publication cannot be guaranteed.