Dr Paulene Pearson has been elected chair of the 18,000-strong Community Practitioners and Health Vistors Association. She takes over from Denise Campbell who stands down after two years in the post.

After seven years as chief executive of North Middlesex Hospital Shaw Edwards has been appointed chief executive of North Devon Healthcare trust Bruce Skilbeck has become acting chief executive of Northallerton Healthcare trust following the move of current chief executive Tony Bruce to a full-time role overseeing the formation of the Hambleton and Richmondshire primary care trust.

David Hill has been appointed chief executive of the James Paget Healthcare trust in Great Yarmouth, Norfolk. Previously director of finance and deputy chief executive, Mr Hill has been acting chief executive at the trust since August 1999.

West Middlesex University Hospitlas trust has appointed Winston Weir as its new director of finance. Mr Weir moves from Ealing, Hammersmith and Hounslow health authority where he was deputy director of finance. He replaces Chris Butler who moves to London regional office.

Diane Charnock has been re-appointed chair of St Helens and Knowsley Hospitals trust.Alan Stephenson has been reappointed as chair of Greater Manchester Ambulance Service trust.And Professor Idris Williams has been reappointed as chair of Morecambe Bay Hospitals trust.

Magistrate Esme Tucker has been appointed as the new non-executive director of Southampton East primary care trust.

Jaqueline Charlton, Tracey Churcher, Timothy Horn and Joanne Mussen have all been appointed non-executive directors of Powys Healthcare trust.

In Person of 2 November wrongly described Nicola Saunders, the new chair of West Sussex health authority as a 'previous non-executive director of the trust' rather than a non-executive director of the health authority. We apologise for the confusion.