David Watt has become director of nursing at Poole Hospital trust. He has held the post on an acting basis since July 1997.

Linda Hughes has been appointed chief executive of Newham primary care group in east London. For the past four years, she has been chief executive of Newham Innercity Multifund.

Dr David Evered is the new chair of Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre trust. He is a physician and former second secretary of the Medical Research Council.

Lord Lofthouse of Pontefract has become chair of Wakefield health authority. He is a Labour peer and former deputy speaker of the House of Commons.

Professor Frances Heidensohn is stepping down from her post as chair of East London and the City health authority. A successor will take over on 1 April.

Teacher Gurdarshan Gill has become a non-executive director of Wolverhampton Health Care trust.

Bruce Creed, a business consultant, was recently appointed as a non- executive director of Oxfordshire Community Health trust.

Walsall Hospitals trust has a new non-executive director -

long-standing Labour party member Barrie Blower, a housing association chief executive.

Two non-executive directors have joined South Downs Health trust - The Rev Malcolm Liles, a team rector, and Linda Lamont, a former director of the Patients Association.

United Bristol Healthcare trust also has two new non-executive directors - Professor Martin Partington, pro-vice chancellor of Bristol University, and Jenny Smith, a Labour councillor and member of Bristol and District community health council.

Yve Buckland has been appointed chair of the Health Education Authority. She is currently deputy chief executive and city secretary of Nottingham city council.