Professor Roderick MacSween, professor of pathology at Glasgow University, has been appointed by health secretary Frank Dobson to the unpaid post of chair of the Unrelated Live Transplant Regulatory Authority until 31 July 2002. He is currently president of the Royal College of Pathologists, but his term ends in December.

Susan Pyper has been appointed chair of Sussex Weald and Sutton trust for a four-year term. Mrs Pyper chaired the project board that led to the merger of three trusts to form the new South West London Community trust.

North Sefton and West Lancashire Community trust has appointed Ernie Benbow director of personnel and Gill Hemmings as senior human resources adviser and deputy personnel director. Mr Benbow was formerly personnel manager of West Lancashire trust, which has merged with Southport and Formby Community trust. Ms Hemmings was directorate personnel officer at West Lancashire trust.

Dr Soraya Dhillon has been appointed chair of Luton and Dunstable Hospital trust. She is director for taught postgraduate studies at London University school of pharmacy.

Brent, Kensington and Chelsea and Westminster Mental Health trust has appointed Richard Fass and John Scott as non-executive directors. Mr Fass was a non-executive director of the former North West London Mental Health Trust. Mr Scott has a business background and was lay chair of the London region's NHS complaints procedure.