Professor Joan Higgins has been appointed chair of North West region, succeeding Alasdair Breckenridge. She is professor of health policy at Manchester University and chair of Manchester health authority.

Dr Peter Barrett is the new chair of Trent region, succeeding Philip Hammersley. Dr Barrett is currently chair of Nottingham HA and continues to work as a GP.

Eileen Spiller has been appointed director of planning, performance and partnerships at North and Mid-Hampshire HA. She was previously director of service development for West Berkshire Priority Care trust.

Rachel Macdonald, former head of facilities management at York Health Services trust, is the new director of estates and facilities for South Humber's two hospital trusts - Scunthorpe and Goole Hospitals trust and North East Lincolnshire trust.

Three new managers have been appointed at Teddington Memorial Hospital and Community trust:

Anne Stratton, formerly assistant director of service delivery and development at Sheffield Children's Hospital, becomes hospital manager; Lesley Yeo, previously a locality manager at South West London Community trust, becomes community services manager; and Rachael Moench, previously human resource manager at Parkside trust, becomes head of human resources.

Mary Crittenden has been appointed chair of East Kent Community trust, following Ian Wilson's retirement. She is a lecturer in health studies at Canterbury College and was formerly a non executive director of the trust.

Dr Simon Tanner has been appointed director of public health for North and MidHampshire health authority. He has been acting director since Dr Judy Curson resigned in March.

Dr Tanner worked as a GP before training as a public health doctor.