Professor Michael Whiting,

dean of the faculty of health at Brighton University, has been appointed chair of Worthing and Southlands trust.

A qualified social worker has been appointed clinical director for Nottingham Healthcare trust. Helen Scott takes over from Mark Morgan, who has become the trust's director of nursing and quality.

A new chair has been appointed for West Surrey health authority. He is Max van der Schalk, a former senior manager for Shell.

Former Family Planning Association director Alastair Service has been re-appointed as chair of Wiltshire health authority. He has led the organisation since it was created.

Susan Woodward, political assistant to Labour MP Tony Wright, has been appointed non-executive director of South Staffordshire health authority. Sankara Viswanathan Iyer has also become a

non-executive director.

Non-executive appointments have been made to three Scottish trusts: Professor Cherry Rowlings joins Central Scotland Healthcare trust, Patricia Gilgannon and Judith Fisher join Edinburgh Sick Children's trust and Asif Haseeb and Hazel Brooke join Yorkhill trust, Glasgow.

Rugby councillor James Shera has been appointed non-executive director at Warwickshire health authority, while current non-executive director Lyn Griffiths has been reappointed.

Rosaleen Malone has been elected chair of the midwifery committee of UK Central Council for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting. She is a lecturer in midwifery at Queen's University, Belfast. The UKCC has also elected a new vice-president of council. She is Mary Hanratty, head of nursing at Ulster Hospital.

Glasgow consultant neurosurgeon Rab Hide has been elected chair of the British Medical Association's Scottish senior doctors' committee.

David Edwards

has become the first transport strategy officer for Oxford's hospitals.

Mr Edwards, who started his career with the team that planned the Newcastle Metro, will put together a transport strategy to tie in with acute services developments in

the city.