Life peer

Sir William Herbert Laming CBE, chief inspector, Social Services Inspectorate.


Professor Charles Frederick George, professor of clinical pharmacology and dean of medicine, health and biological sciences. Professor Brian Jarman OBE, GP and professor of primary healthcare. Alan Langlands, NHS chief executive. Sandy Macara, chair, council of the British Medical Association. Professor Netar Prakash Mallick, professor of renal medicine and consultant nephrologist, Manchester Royal Infirmary.

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB)

Eileen Doris Rubery, head, protection of health division, Department of Health.

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE)

Betty Kershaw, president, Royal College of Nursing. Gillian Frances Oliver, head nurse and patient services director, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Merseyside. Lady Ruth Runciman, chair, Mental Health Act Commission.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Marion Phyllis Bull, chief nursing officer, Welsh Office. June Madge Crown, president, Faculty of Public Health Medicine. John Armstrong Muir Gray, research and development director, Anglia and Oxford regional office. Professor Jack Donald Hardcastle, professor of surgery. Professor Harry Keen, NHS Support Federation. Ronald James Kerr, director, North Thames regional office. Wilma Roy MacPherson, quality and nursing director, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital trust. Zahida Manzoor, for services to the Commission for Racial Equality and to healthcare. Professor Denis Noble, FRS, Burden Sanderson professor of cardiovascular physiology. Professor Catherine Peckham, professor of paediatric epidemiology. Professor Charles Vaughan Ruckley, professor of vascular surgery. Anthony Patrick Smith, chief executive, English National Board for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting. Roy Taylor, president, Association of Directors of Social Services.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Thelma Dorothy Bates, chair, health committee, General Medical Council. Anthony Peter Bell, nursing and joint commissioning director, Liverpool HA. James William Calderwood, services to orthopaedic surgery. Professor Marcella Anne Chamberlain, services to rheumatalogical rehabilitation. Elaine Davies Cooper, section head, DoH. Diana Rosemary Dunstan, director, research management, Medical Research Council. William John Farquhar, secretary, clinical resource and audit group, NHS in Scotland. Niall Diarmid Campbell Finlayson, consultant physician, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh. Brian Footitt, nursing development director, South Tees Acute Hospitals trust. William Gent, clinical director, Central Scotland Healthcare trust. Maldwyn Jones Griffith, consultant in trauma and orthopaedic surgery and surgical services director, Carmarthen and District trust. Joseph Anthony Hillis, nursing and operational services director, Reaside Clinic, Birmingham. Ian Hunter, services to optometry and patient eye care. Lionel Joyce, chief executive, Newcastle City Health trust. Christopher John Frank Madden, executive director, British in vitro Diagnostics Association. Professor John Morton, director, cognitive development unit, Medical Research Council. Claire Perry, chief executive, Bromley HA. Patricia Ann Steane, medical director and consultant anaesthetist, Swansea trust. Philip John Sykes, consultant plastic surgeon, Morriston Hospital. Hazel Muriel Taylor, lately nursing director, Glan Hafren trust. Talib Hussain Yaseen, nursing and operational services director, Furness General Hospital.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Marlene Austin, inpatient services manager, Royal Shrewsbury Hospital. Adrienne Bailey, sister, Oaklands trust. Renata Bane, restaurant supervisor, Manchester Royal Eye Hospital. John Berry, leading ambulanceman, Cumbria Ambulance Service. Angela Forsyth, deputy director of nursing (mental health), Cornwall Healthcare trust. Jean Haddow, member, Fife health board. Gina Higginbottom, lecturer in nursing, Sheffield University. David Higgins, lately maintenance manager, Argyll and Bute trust. Judith Cosker Hunter, head of nursing, children's services, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle upon Tyne. Yvonne Graham Hutton, district nursing sister. William Kent, deputy section head, DoH. William McEwen, lately linen services production manager, Ninewells Hospital. Diana McMurray, nurse/business manager, Arran War Memorial Hospital. Ann Doreen Patton, nursing sister, Carrickfergus, Co Antrim. Pamrie Luasca Ramsay, press office clerk, DoH. Edward Reynolds, chair, National Association of GP Co-operatives. Julia Ritchie, head of speech and language therapy, North Kent Healthcare trust. Agnes Stewart, vice- chair, Southern General Hospital trust, Glasgow. Claire Trencher, primary healthcare and children's services director, Thameside Community Healthcare trust.

The 50th anniversary of the NHS sees a particularly large number of NHS staff winning recognition for their work in the Queen's birthday honours list. The following were among them

Zahida Manzoor

The chair of Northern and Yorkshire region is awarded a CBE, in recognition of her services to the Commission for Racial Equality and to healthcare. Ms Manzoor was previously chair of Bradford health authority.