Key players in the drive to modernise the NHS have been rewarded in the new year's honours list, with CBEs going to several senior managers for their work in driving forward reforms.

NHS modernisation board member Sue Page, chief executive of Northumbria Healthcare trust, was awarded a CBE for services to the NHS.

CBEs also went to North West London Hospitals trust chief executive John Pope, NHS Executive North West regional director Professor Robert Tinston, deputy chief medical officer Dr Pat Troop, national cancer director Professor Michael Richards, Greater Glasgow health board chair Professor David Hamblen and Parkside Health trust deputy chief executive Peter Pillay.

Redesign director of the National Patient Access Team Professor Helen Bevan, received an OBE.

Chief executives awarded OBEs included Pearl Brown from Riverside Community Health Care trust, Andrew Cash from Northern General Hospitals trust, Thomas Divers from Lanarkshire health board and Barbara Hakin from Bradford South and West primary care trust. Liverpool health authority director of public health Dr Ruth Hussey, Pilgrim trust chair Peter Jordan and the head of private office at the Executive's Northern and Yorkshire region Lynda Keith were also awarded OBEs.

Audit Commission controller Andrew Foster was knighted for services to local government and the NHS, and president of the Royal College of Surgeons Barry Jackson was also knighted. Professor Mike Pringle, chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners, was awarded a CBE, as was Department of Health senior communications manager Jane Ellis.

Department of Health human resources director Hugh Taylor has been appointed to the new post of director of external and corporate affairs.He will play a key role 'driving through the modernisation' of the DoH.