The NHS will next week begin a 12-week consultation on the shape of 28 strategic health authorities.

Information gathered by HSJ from regional offices coordinating the plans from information fed to them by HAs, shows proposals for SHAs of varying sizes, with large urban populations covered by giant SHAs in Merseyside and Greater Manchester, while London would have five SHAs.

Public consultation on the 28 SHAs - the figure has shrunk from the 30 SHAs originally proposed - begins on 7 September, as consultation closes on Shifting the Balance, the strategic document outlining the role of the SHAs.

The proposals in full:

1West Midlands - Birmingham HA, Sandwell HA, Dudley HA, Walsall HA, Wolverhampton HA, Solihull HA.

2West Midlands - Worcestershire HA, Coventry HA, Warwickshire HA, Herefordshire HA.

3West Midlands - South Staffordshire HA, North Staffordshire HA, Shropshire HA.

4London - Ealing, Hammersmith and Hounslow HA, Brent and Harrow HA, Hillingdon HA, Kensington, Chelsea and Westminster HA.

5London - Croydon HA, Kingston and Richmond HA, Merton Sutton and Wandsworth HA.

6London - Camden and Islington HA, Barnet, Enfield and Haringey HA.

7London: - Lambeth Southwark and Lewisham HA, Bexley, Bromley and Greenwich HA.

8London - Redbridge and Waltham Forest HA, Barking and Havering HA, East London and The City HA.

9South West - Dorset HA, Somerset HA.

10South West - Avon HA, Gloucestershire HA, Wiltshire HA.

11South West - Cornwall and Isles of Scilly HA, South and West Devon HA, North and East Devon HA.

12Eastern - North Essex HA, South Essex HA.

13Eastern - Suffolk HA, Norfolk HA, Cambridgeshire HA.

14Eastern - Bedfordshire HA, Hertfordshire HA.

15Trent - Barnsley HA, Doncaster HA, Rotherham HA, Sheffield HA.

16Trent - Leicestershire HA, Northamptonshire HA.

17Trent - Nottingham HA, North Nottinghamshire HA, Southern Derbyshire HA, North Derbyshire HA, Lincolnshire HA.

18Northern and Yorks - Northumberland HA, Newcastle and North Tyneside HA, Gateshead and South Tyneside HA, Sunderland HA.

19Northern and Yorks - North Yorkshire HA, County Durham and Darlington HA, Tees HA.

20Northern and Yorks - East Riding and Hull HA, South Humber HA.

21Northern and Yorks - Calderdale and Kirklees HA, Bradford HA, Leeds HA, Wakefield HA.

22North West - Sefton HA, North Cheshire HA, South Cheshire HA, Wirral HA, Liverpool HA, St Helens and Knowsley HA.

23North West - North Cumbria HA, North West Lancashire HA, Morecambe Bay HA, East Lancashire HA, South Lancashire HA.

24North West - Manchester HA, Salford and Trafford HA, Stockport HA, Wigan and Bolton HA, West Pennine HA, Bury and Rochdale HA.

25South East - Oxfordshire HA, Buckinghamshire HA, Berkshire HA.

26South East - Isle of Wight, Portsmouth and South East Hampshire HA, North and Mid Hampshire HA, Southampton and South West Hampshire HA.

27South East - West Sussex HA, East Sussex Brighton and Hove HA, West Surrey HA, East Surrey HA.

28South East - West Kent HA, East Kent HA.