Published: 16/12/2004, Volume II4, No. 5936 Page 34

Jeanette Arnold has been appointed chair of the London Health Commission. The London Assembly member for north-east London and former nurse spent eight years as a councillor in Islington, where she chaired the health and social services committee.

Dawn MatthewsSmith has joined the Orders of St John Care Trust as county director for Oxfordshire. She joins the charity from Pavilion Housing Association.

Catherine Mitchell has joined North Essex Mental Health Partnership trust as a non-executive director. Professor Robert Lechler is a new nonexecutive Guy's and St Thomas' foundation trust.

Send details of senior appointments to andrew.

snowball@emap. com