Two new health authority chairs have been appointed in the North West region. Alan Bullen, who is leader of West Lancashire district council, becomes chair of South Lancashire HA. Vourneen Darbyshire, a solicitor, becomes chair of North West Lancashire HA. She is a former non-executive director of Blackpool, Wyre and Fylde Community Health Services trust. Three chairs have been reappointed. They are William Ashworth, at East Lancashire HA; John Dray, at St Helens and Knowsley HA; and Ian Pirnie, at Morecambe Bay HA.

Peter Smallridge has been appointed chair of West Kent health authority. He was formerly director of social services at Kent county council and takes over from Peter Edgley, who has retired.

Fiona Brennan, a human resources manager, and Colin Jones, a chartered accountant, have been appointed non-executive directors of the Welsh Ambulance Services trust.

Steve Saunders has been appointed director of planning and corporate affairs at the Royal Hospitals trust, London. Currently assistant director for east London at the North Thames regional office, he oversees the work of three health authorities and 10 trusts. He was previously head of trust finance and capital investment with the NHS Executive.

Social policy consultant Diana Robbins has been appointed as a non-executive director at Lewisham and Guy's Mental Health Services trust.

Ginny Storey has been appointed nursing officer, primary care, at the NHS Executive in Leeds. She will be responsible for the strategic planning and development of primary care nursing, particularly in relation to primary care groups and primary care pilots. She was previously director of primary care and executive nurse at Blackpool, Wyre and Fylde Community Health Services trust.