An expert group has been convened to advise the Welsh Assembly government on health policy.

Health minister for Wales Edwina Hart said the Bevan commission would guide the ongoing restructure of the country's NHS while also offering advice in other areas.

The group is chaired by Wales Centre for Health chair Mansel Aylward and members include Institute for Healthcare Improvement president and chief executive Don Berwick and NHS South West chief executive Sir Ian Carruthers.

Best practice

Ms Hart said she wanted the commission to help Wales "draw on the best practice from across the world while remaining true to the principles of the NHS".

The other members are British Medical Association medical ethics committee chair Tony Calland, National Heart and Lung Institute head Sir Anthony Newman Taylor, Swansea University health economics professor Ceri Phillips, Edinburgh University public health policy professor Allyson Pollock, former Royal College of Nursing president Dame June Clark and Keele University professor of social justice Charlotte Williams.