Commissioners in Lincolnshire have told GPs they will need to hold back transformation funding for 2017-18 in response to a flagship national savings programme.

North Lincolnshire Clinical Commissioning Group has told GPs it cannot issue the General Practice Forward View funding it originally promised for 2017-18 due to the capped expenditure process.

In June, NHS England introduced the CEP and placed the 14 sustainability and transformation partnership areas with the biggest overspends in the programme.

NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens warned the areas would need to make “hard” choices to make the savings required by the process.

HSJ understands North Lincolnshire CCG told GPs in August it would not be able to pay the £270,000 investment originally planned for 2017-18.

Instead the money will be deferred until 2018-19 and paid on top of next year’s allocation.

HSJ understands NHS England is aware of the CCG’s plan.

Last month, HSJ reported that the Vale Royal and South Cheshire CCGs, which are also in the CEP, had to cut planned growth in primary care spending for 2017-18 in response to the national programme.

A spokeswoman from North Lincolnshire CCG said: ”Currently the plans do not include deferment of those activities which had clear and defined plans before the start of the year, but one of redirecting resources to support the recovery wherever these are available to the betterment of the system.

”As such investments in primary care with established plans have been maintained, and we are building plans for further investments in primary care in 2018/19. This approach also applies to both the foundation trust in the North Lincolnshire system, other providers, the CCG’s and Local Authorities.”

The 14 areas in the capped expenditure process

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire and North Somerset
  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough
  • Cheshire (Eastern Cheshire, Vale Royal and South Cheshire)
  • Cornwall
  • Devon
  • Morecambe Bay
  • Northumberland
  • North Central London
  • North Lincolnshire
  • South East London
  • Staffordshire
  • Surrey and Sussex
  • Vale of York and Scarborough and Ryedale

This story was updated at 2.40pm after HSJ received a comment from North Lincolnshire CCG