NHS England has revealed the 64 clinical commissioning groups that will take full control of their local primary care budgets from April.

The CCGs will be responsible for the performance management and budgets of their member GP practices, including managing complaints about practices and GPs.


The local commissioning arrangements are to help ‘unlock new models of integrated care’, Amanda Doyle said

There is a regional divide in the CCGs which will be taking on these responsibilities: 24 CCGs in the North (35.3 per cent of CCGs in the region) and 26 in the Midlands and East (42.6 per cent) have been approved for have full delegated commissioning of their member practices. However, just eight in the South (16 per cent) and six in London (18.8 per cent) have been approved.

NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens said that 65 CCGs had been approved to take on delegated primary care responsibility for 2015-16, at a King’s Fund event in London this morning.

However, a statement released by the organisation this afternoon clarified that 64 groups have been granted full approval, while one further group, which has not yet been named, has been conditionally approved “pending changes to some governance arrangements”.

Primary care is currently commissioned by NHS England’s area teams, but Mr Stevens announced last spring that he wanted to hand the responsibility to CCGs. They were asked late last year to choose between three levels of “co-commissioning”: delegated commissioning, joint commissioning or “greater involvement”.

HSJ revealed last month that 77 CCGs had submitted proposals to NHS England to take on delegated commissioning of primary care.

Ian Dodge, NHS England’s director for commissioning strategy, said: “Today we are backing 64 CCGs that have asked NHS England for full delegated powers to improve local primary care, within a transparent and robust framework for managing conflicts of interest. It is a vote of confidence in CCGs.

“It is part of our commitment to deliver a new deal for primary care. It’s a critical step towards joining up the commissioning system, which in turn will help unlock new models of integrated care described in the NHS Five Year Forward View.”

Amanda Doyle, co-chair of NHS England’s primary care co-commissioning programme oversight group, said: “This is a journey to enable local commissioning arrangements that can deliver the kind of integrated care, in and out of hospital that we all want to see.

Dr Doyle, who is chief clinical officer of Blackpool CCG, one of the organisations taking on delegated commissioning, said: “Giving GP led [CCGs] more influence over the wider NHS budget will enable a shift in investment from acute to primary and community services, and enable money to follow the patient.

“The introduction of co-commissioning is another strong step on the path to provide a more joined up, high quality service for the future.”

The 64 CCGs taking on delegated commissioning


  • Sunderland CCG
  • North Durham CCG
  • Durham Dales, Easington And Sedgefield CCG
  • East Lancashire CCG
  • Greater Preston CCG
  • Chorley And South Ribble CCG
  • Blackpool CCG
  • Fylde and Wyre CCG
  • Blackburn with Darwen CCG
  • Bradford City CCG
  • Bradford Districts CCG
  • Calderdale CCG
  • Wakefield CCG
  • Scarborough and Ryedale CCG
  • Harrogate and Rural District CCG
  • Vale of York CCG
  • Barnsley CCG
  • Rotherham CCG
  • St Helens CCG
  • Liverpool CCG
  • Knowsley CCG
  • Halton CCG
  • Oldham CCG
  • Wigan Borough CCG

Midlands and East

  • South Warwickshire CCG
  • South Worcestershire CCG
  • Birmingham Crosscity CCG
  • Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG
  • Dudley CCG
  • Birmingham South and Central CCG
  • Telford and Wrekin CCG
  • Shropshire CCG
  • North Derbyshire CCG
  • Hardwick CCG
  • Mansfield and Ashfield CCG
  • Newark and Sherwood CCG
  • Nottingham North and East CCG
  • Nottingham West CCG
  • Nottingham City CCG
  • Erewash CCG
  • Rushcliffe CCG
  • Southern Derbyshire CCG
  • Lincolnshire West CCG
  • Lincolnshire East CCG
  • South West Lincolnshire CCG
  • South Lincolnshire CCG
  • East Leicestershire and Rutland CCG
  • Leicester City CCG
  • West Leicestershire CCG
  • Castle Point and Rochford CCG


  • Tower Hamlets CCG
  • Waltham Forest CCG
  • Newham CCG
  • Redbridge CCG
  • Barking and Dagenham CCG
  • Havering CCG


  • Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCG
  • Hastings and Rother CCG
  • High Weald Lewes Havens CCG
  • South Eastern Hampshire CCG
  • Fareham and Gosport CCG
  • West Hampshire CCG
  • Portsmouth CCG
  • Gloucestershire CCG