STRUCTURE: Three inner north west London boroughs are to pilot the non-emergency NHS 111 number from 24 October.

Kensington and Chelsea, Hammersmith and Fulham and Westminster primary care trusts will have a “soft launch” of the service, a document obtained from NHS London under the Freedom of Information Act reveals.

When combined with another pilot in Hillingdon, the INWL boroughs will bring 11 per cent of the capital’s population under a pilot scheme.