WORKFORCE: NHS Wiltshire chair Tony Barron has been appointed to lead the Wiltshire and Bath and North East Somerset primary care trust cluster.

The PCTs have been late to cluster after BANES chair Malcolm Hanney argued merging risked undoing integration work done with Bath and North East Somerset Council. He won a four month extension but the PCT will cluster from 1 April.

Mr Barron has served as chair of NHS Wiltshire since December 2006. In his new role he will receive remuneration of £36,779 per annum.

Five non-executives from NHS Wiltshire and two from NHS BANES have been appointed as non-executive directors to the cluster board.

Christine Reid, Lis Woods, John Holden, Peter Lucas and David Stevens will join from NHS Wiltshire while David Smith and David Loosley come from BANES.

Cluster chief executive Ed Macalister-Smith said: “As we move to the next phase of NHS reforms I’m delighted that we have a strong, highly experienced and capable team.  Alongside our GPs, local authorities and voluntary sector partners we will ensure patient safety and quality remains at the top of our agenda.”