• Knighthood for former NHS Improvement boss Jim Mackey and Western Sussex Hospitals chief executive Marianne Griffiths made a dame
  • Claire Murdoch and other senior NHS England figures also among those in the New Year’s honours list

Hospital chief executives and senior NHS England staff were among those named in the New Year’s Honours list.

Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust chief executive Jim Mackey received a knighthood while Western Sussex Hospitals FT boss Marianne Griffiths was made a dame.

Mental health boss and chief executive of Central and North West London FT Claire Murdoch was given a CBE, along with Huon Gray, national clinical director for heart disease, and Kate Davies, director of health and justice, armed forces and sexual assault services commissioning.

Recent chief nursing officer and regional director for NHS England London Jane Cummings was also given a CBE, as was West Suffolk Hospitals FT chief executive Stephen Dunn, and Michelle McLoughlin, Birmingham Women’s and Children’s FT chief nurse.

Others honoured included people at the heart of the NHS response to terror attacks last year.

These included NHS England lead for emergency preparedness, resilience and response Peter Boorman, London Ambulance Service director of operations Paul Woodrow, and Colin Kelsey, who led the NHS response to the Manchester Arena bombing.

They, along with Malik Ramadhan, who was in charge of accident and emergency at the Royal London Hospital the night of the London Bridge terror attack, were given OBEs.

NHS England chair Lord Prior said: “These are remarkable people doing extraordinary things for their fellow citizens.

“The NHS is a unique organisation which has won the hearts and minds of all of us for over 70 years, but its success depends wholly on the people who work in it.

“Those who have been honoured for their service this year honour us all. Many, many congratulations to them.”

National clinical director for diabetes and obesity Jonathan Valabhji, and Tony Young, who leads NHS England’s work on innovation, were awarded OBEs; so were outgoing National Voices chief executive Jeremy Taylor, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear FT chief John Lawlor, and Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals FT chief Richard Parker.

OBEs also went to Sue Smith, University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay FT chief nurse; Angela Walsh, head of NHS pay at the Department of Health and Social Care; and David Foster, former director at the Department of Health, and trustee of the Queen’s Nursing Institute.

Melissa Mead, the mother of William, who died of sepsis following service failures, and has since raised awareness of the issue, received an MBE. The north region’s chief nurse Margaret Kitching was also awarded an MBE, as were Yvonne Ormston – North East Ambulance Service FT chief executive – and Nicholas Roberts, chief clinical officer of South Devon and Torbay Clinical Commissioning Group. 

Updated to include additional recipients.