Dozens of NHS managers and staff were recognised in the Queen’s birthday honours last weekend, including the chair of the NHS Confederation.

Keith Pearson said being knighted was one of only two events in his life that have left him speechless - the other being the birth of his son.

He told HSJ he was touched after being “deluged” with congratulations from friends and colleagues in the NHS.

Sian Jarvis, director of communications at the Department of Health also received an honour and was made a Companion of the Order of the Bath.

CBEs were awarded to Judith Greensmith, Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals Trust chair; Dr Russell Hamilton, director of research and development at the DH; Professor Barry McCormick, chief economist and chief analyst at the DH; and David Stone, chair of Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust.

Professor Mandy Ashton, director of quality at NHS Leicester City; John Glennie, former chief executive of NHS Borders; and Gill Heaton, executive director of patient services and chief nurse at Central Manchester University Hospitals Foundation Trust, were appointed OBEs.

OBEs also went to George Jenkins, chair of South London Healthcare Trust and vice chair NHS Blood and Transplant; Barry Mussenden, deputy director of the DH policy and strategy directorate; Margaret Oldfield, chair of Rotherham Foundation Trust; Dr Rachel Perkins, director of quality assurance and user experience at South West London and St George’s Mental Health Trust; David Stout, director of finance and communication, NHS North East; and Liz Taylor, senior commissioning manager, NHS Southampton City.

MBEs went to: Craig Ainge, premises development manager at NHS Bedfordshire; John Divall, corporate affairs director, South Central Ambulance Service; Jacqueline McKenna, director of nursing and strategic planning, Medway Foundation Trust; Stuart Smalley, former DH head of international development; Stuart Talbot, associate medical director at NHS Salford; Dr Ann Wales, director of knowledge management at NHS Education for Scotland; Hazel Waters, workforce information assistant at Medway Foundation Trust; Virginia Blakey, head of the tobacco policy branch, Welsh Assembly government Department of Health and Social Services; and Peter Eaglesfield, former non-executive director at NHS Wirral.