The Department of Health has announced the 12 expert and lay members of the national quality board.

The board, which will guide work on improving the quality of care in the NHS, will meet for the first time on 30 March.

Clinical expert members

  • Royal College of Psychiatrists research and training unit director Paul Lelliott

  • Royal College of Physicians president Ian Gilmore

  • GP and head of Quest Sir John Oldham

  • Royal College of GPs president David Haslam

  • Healthcare Foundation chief executive Stephen Thornton

  • Sheffield Teaching Hospitals chief nurse Hilary Scholefield

Lay members

  • Stroke Association vice president Margaret Goose

  • Turning Point chief executive Lord Adebowale

  • King’s College London senior research fellow in patient and public involvement Sally Brearley

  • Carers UK trustee Don Brereton

  • Disability Matters chief executive Stephen Duckworth

  • Dr Foster Intelligence executive board chair Tim Kelsey

The previously announced members of the board are NHS chief executive David Nicholson, NHS medical director Sir Bruce Keogh, chief nursing officer Christine Beasley, chief medical officer Sir Liam Donaldson, director general for social care David Behan, Care Quality Commission chair Baroness Young, Monitor executive chair Bill Moyes and National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence chair Sir Mike Rawlins.

Role of the quality board

The board’s roles will include agreeing quality improvement aims and overseeing the reforms aimed at improving care.

Meanwhile, medical directors are being appointed for each strategic health authority.

Sir Bruce said he would meet with them regularly, with the national clinical directors, to co-ordinate clinical leadership. The regional medical directors would feed back on issues raised by medical leaders in their trusts.

“We want to be able to respond to [issues raised] and put policy in place that enables people to do what they need to do to improve services,” he said.