Those receiving awards in the Queen's birthday honours included many working in healthcare. The following were among them

Marianne Rigge, director of the College of Health, was awarded an OBE.

Knight Dr Iain Chalmers, director of the UK Cochrane Centre, for services to healthcare.

Graham Morgan, executive director of nursing and quality at North West London Hospitals trust, for services to healthcare.

Professor Roddy MacSween, former president of the Royal College of Pathologists and chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, for services to medicine and pathology.

Professor George Radda, chief executive of the Medical Research Council, for services to biomedical science.

Nicholas Young, chief executive of Macmillan Cancer Relief, for services to cancer care.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) John Barnard, dean, faculty of dental surgery, Royal College of Surgeons of England, for services to oral surgery and dentistry.

Professor Colin Bird, provost and dean, faculty of medicine, Edinburgh University, for services to medicine.

Guatam Bodiwala, consultant, Leicester Royal Infirmary, for services to accident and emergency medicine.

Gill Brook, clinical nurse specialist, liver unit, Birmingham Children's Hospital, for services to healthcare.

David Campbell, chair of the Health Education Board for Scotland, for services to health education.

Dr John Chisholm, chair of the British Medical Association's GP committee.

Len Fenwick, chief executive of Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals trust, for services to the NHS.

Professor Rod Griffiths, West Midlands regional director of public health.

Dr Peter Homa, director of the Commission for Health Improvement, for services to healthcare.

Kim Manley, acting head of practice development, Royal College of Nursing, for services to the development of quality care for patients.

Ann McPherson, GP, Oxford, for services to teenage health and innovations in women's healthcare.

Professor Robert Will, director, Creutzfeldt Jakob Disease Surveillance Unit, for services to healthcare.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) Mary Brydon, Norwich, for services to allergy nursing.

Professor Yvonne Carter, professor of general practice and primary care, Queen Mary and Westfield College, for services to health research.

Jagdish Chawla, consultant ophthalmologist, Royal Alexandra Hospital trust, Paisley, for services to ophthalmology.

Wendy Colley, for services to continence nursing in West Cumbria.

Aires Barros d'Sa, consultant vascular surgeon, Royal Victoria Hospital, for services to vascular surgery.

Jill Evans, founder, cardiac rehabilitation clinic, Royal Gwent Hospital, for services to the development of cardiac rehabilitation services.

Margaret Garbett, lately ward manager, spinal injuries unit, Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt District Orthopaedic Hospital, Shropshire.

Elisabeth Hill, lately vice chair, Scottish Association of Mental Health, for services to sufferers of mental illness and drug and alcohol misuse.

Professor Amritpal Hungin, Stockton on Tees, for services to general practice research.

John Hunt, chief executive and secretary, British Dental Association, for services to the dental profession.

Nola Ishmael, nursing officer at the Department of Health.

John Kirby for services to the Oesophageal Patients' Association.

Leila Lessof, chair, Moorfields Hospital trust, for services to public health.

Rafeek Mahmood, medical director, Wirral Hospitals trust.

Professor Barry McCormick, Nottinghamshire, for services to paediatric audiology.

Diana Patterson, Belfast, for services to healthcare for substance misusers.

Linda Patterson, medical director of Burnley Health Care trust.

Marjorie Small, manager, clinical haematology (cancer) unit, Heartlands Hospital Birmingham, for services to nursing.

Anne Weyman, chief executive, Family Planning Association.

Paul Williams, chief executive, Bro Morgannwg trust.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) Elisabeth Bevan, health visitor, North Glamorgan trust, for services to primary healthcare in South Wales.

David Elder, corporate services and facilities manager, Fife health board, for services to the NHS in Scotland.

Joy Field, clinical nurse specialist (nutrition), Queens Medical Centre, Nottingham, for services to nursing.

Clare Gerada, GP, London, for services to medicine and drug misusers.

John Lancaster, head of nursing and professional development, NHS Executive.

James Robison, vice-chair, Lanarkshire health board, for services to the NHS in Scotland.

Kathleen Silver, clerical officer, Highland Primary Care trust, for services to the NHS in Scotland.

Jean Stewart, patient affairs officer, Newham Healthcare trust, for services to the NHS.

Hugh Taylor, NHS Executive director of human resources, has been made Companion of the Order of the Bath.