The HSJ80 lists the figures who will exercise the most power and/or influence on the English NHS and health policy over the coming 12 months

Sponsored byintersystemslogo

This year we identified the 80 people who will exercise the most influence on the NHS and health policy over the coming 12 months, with only a small list of exclusions. We have identified and ranked the top 20 of those.

Back in the spring, we selected a list of 20 ‘wildcards’, who judges and contributors said should have more influence over the NHS and health policy. With the HSJ80 listed below, they take us to the full HSJ100.

Numbers 1-20 are ranked

  1. Sajid Javid, secretary of state for health and social care, Her Majesty’s government
  2. Amanda Pritchard, chief executive, NHS England
  3. Professor Chris Whitty, chief medical officer for England and chief medical adviser to the UK government
  4. Jeremy Hunt, chair, health and care select committee, House of Commons
  5. Samantha Jones, senior expert adviser health, Number 10
  6. Emily Lawson, director, Number 10 delivery unit
  7. Julian Kelly, chief financial officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  8. Professor Stephen Powis, national medical director, NHS England and interim chief executive, NHS Improvement 
  9. Dr Tim Ferris, national director of transformation, NHS England and Improvement
  10. Chris Hopson, chief executive, NHS Providers
  11. Lord Simon Stevens, House of Lords
  12. Edward Argar, minister of state, Department of Health and Social Care
  13. Dr Jenny Harries, chief executive, UK Health Security Agency, and head, NHS Test and Trace
  14. Ruth May, chief nursing officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  15. Dame Pauline Philip, national director emergency and elective care, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  16. Dr Navina Evans, chief executive, Health Education England
  17. Ian Dodge, national director for strategy and innovation, NHS England
  18. Dr Nikki Kanani, medical director for primary care, NHS England
  19. Sir Chris Wormald, permanent secretary, Department of Health and Social Care
  20. Matthew Style, incoming director general for NHS policy and performance, Department of Health and Social Care


21-80 are listed alphabetically

  • Dr Ian Abbs, chief executive, Guy’s and St Thomas’ Foundation Trust
  • Caroline Abrahams, charity director, Age UK
  • Lord Victor Adebowale, chair, NHS Confederation
  • Charlotte Augst, chief executive, National Voices
  • Dr Bola Owolabi, director health inequalities, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Richard Barker, regional director, North East and Yorkshire, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Sir David Behan, chair, Health Education England
  • Dr Rosie Benneyworth, chief inspector of primary medical services and integrated care, Care Quality Commission
  • Simon Bolton, chief executive, NHS Digital
  • Andy Brittain, director general for finance, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Andy Burnham, mayor, Greater Manchester
  • Tom Cahill, national director for learning disability and autism, NHS England
  • Anita Charlesworth, director of research and economics, the Health Foundation
  • Keith Conradi, chief investigator, Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch
  • Mark Cubbon, interim chief operating officer, NHS England
  • Dame Jackie Daniel, chief executive, Newcastle Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Professor Lord Ara Darzi, non-executive director, NHS England
  • Dr Jennifer Dixon, chief executive, The Health Foundation
  • Nigel Edwards, chief executive, Nuffield Trust
  • Paul Farmer, chief executive, Mind, and chair, NHS England mental health taskforce
  • Professor Kevin Fenton, regional director for public health, London
  • Dr Aidan Fowler, national director of patient safety in England, NHS Improvement, and deputy chief medical officer, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Dr Andrew Goddard, president, Royal College of Physicians
  • Sara Gorton, head of health, Unison
  • Michael Gove, secretary of state for levelling up, housing and communities
  • Julian Hartley, chief executive, Leeds Teaching Hospitals
  • Professor Dame Sue Hill, chief scientific officer for England
  • Angela Hillery, chief executive, Leicestershire Partnership Trust and Northamptonshire Healthcare Foundation Trust
  • Dame Meg Hillier, chair, public accounts committee, House of Commons
  • Prerana Issar, chief people officer, NHS England
  • Tim Leunig, economic adviser to the chancellor, Her Majesty’s Treasury
  • Sir Jim Mackey, chief executive, Northumbria Foundation Trust, and elective recovery adviser, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Professor Martin Marshall, chair, Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Adam Memon, special adviser to the secretary of state for health and social care
  • Sir Gordon Messenger, lead of government’s review of health and social care leadership
  • Sir Andrew Morris, vice chair, NHS Improvement
  • Professor Neil Mortensen, president, Royal College of Surgeons
  • Danny Mortimer, chief executive, NHS Employers
  • Claire Murdoch, national mental health director, NHS England and chief executive of Central and North West London Foundation Trust
  • Richard Murray, chief executive, The King’s Fund
  • Sharmila Nebhrajani, chair, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
  • Dr Chaand Nagpaul, chair, BMA Council
  • Habib Naqvi, director, NHS Race and Health Observatory
  • Dame Linda Pollard, chair, Leeds Teaching Hospitals, and co-lead, DHSC’s health and social care leadership review
  • Lord David Prior, chair, NHS England
  • Hugh Pym, health editor, BBC 
  • Tom Riordan, chief executive, Leeds City Council
  • Sir David Sloman, regional director for London, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • John Stewart, specialised commissioning director, NHS England
  • Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
  • Andrea Sutcliffe, chief executive, Nursing and Midwifery Council
  • Matthew Taylor, chief executive, NHS Confederation
  • Ian Trenholm, chief executive, Care Quality Commission
  • Sir Patrick Vallance, chief scientific adviser to the UK government
  • Professor Jonathan Van-Tam, deputy chief medical officer, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Rob Webster, executive lead, West Yorkshire and Harrogate integrated care system
  • Professor Sir Keith Willett, covid vaccine lead, NHS England
  • Owen Williams, incoming chief executive, Northern Care Alliance, and chief executive Calderdale and Huddersfield Foundation Trust
  • Dame Alwen Williams, chief executive, Barts Health Trust
  • Matthew Winn, national director for community health services, NHS England and NHS Improvement, and chief executive, Cambridgeshire Community Services Trust

Note: The HSJ100 judges decided to exclude themselves from consideration for the list. 

The remainder of the full HSJ100 are the 20 wildcards identified by the judges and contributors earlier this year.

Also read:

HSJ100: The government is back

HSJ100 reveals this year’s enablers of transformation

HSJ100: Judges

HSJ100: The wildcards