The HSJ100 lists the figures who will exercise the most power and/or influence in the English NHS and health policy over the next 12 months.

Sponsored byInterSystems logo.

Numbers 1-20 are ranked

  1. Sajid Javid, secretary of state for health and social care
  2. Amanda Pritchard, chief executive, NHS England
  3. Julian Kelly, chief financial officer, NHS England
  4. Sir David Sloman, chief operating officer, NHS England
  5. Jeremy Hunt, chair, House of Commons health select committee
  6. Sir Jim Mackey, chief executive, Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust and elective recovery director, NHS England
  7. Matthew Taylor, chief executive, NHS Confederation
  8. Chris Hopson, chief strategy officer, NHS England
  9. Wes Streeting, shadow secretary of state for health and social care
  10. Matthew Style, director general for NHS policy and performance, Department of Health and Social Care
  11. Richard Meddings, chair, NHS England
  12. Dr Amanda Doyle, director of primary and community services, NHS England
  13. Dr Tim Ferris, national director for transformation, NHS England
  14. Dr Bola Owolabi, director – health inequalities, NHS England
  15. Professor Sir Stephen Powis, national medical director, NHS England and interim chief executive, NHS Improvement
  16. Professor Dame Helen Stokes-Lampard, chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
  17. Adam Memon, special adviser, Department of Health and Social Care
  18. Dame Ruth May, chief nursing officer, NHS England
  19. Richard Barker, regional director North East and Yorkshire and interim regional director North West, NHS England
  20. Ming Tang, chief data officer and analytics officer (interim), NHS England

The rest of the list is non-ranked and presented alphabetically

  • Lord Victor Adebowale, chair, NHS Confederation
  • Samantha Allen, chief executive, North East and Cumbria Integrated Care System
  • Edward Argar, minister of state, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Charlotte Augst, chief executive, National Voices
  • Dr Rosie Benneyworth, interim chief investigator, Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch
  • Professor Lucy Chappell, chief scientific adviser, Department of Health and Social Care and chief executive, National Institute for Health and Care Research
  • Anita Charlesworth, director of research and economics, Health Foundation
  • Blake Dark, commercial medicines director, NHS England
  • Dr Penny Dash, chair, North West London Integrated Care System and co-chair, Cambridge Health Network
  • Sir Michael Deegan, chief executive, Manchester University Foundation Trust
  • Dr Vin Diwakar, medical director for secondary care and transformation, NHS England
  • Adam Doyle, chief executive, Sussex Integrated Care System
  • Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, chief midwifery officer, NHS England
  • Nigel Edwards, chief executive, Nuffield Trust
  • Daniel Elkeles, chief executive, London Ambulance Service Trust
  • Dr Navina Evans, chief executive, Health Education England
  • Paul Farmer, chief executive, Mind, and NHS England mental health oversight and advisory group chair. From October 2022, Age UK chief executive 
  • Professor Kevin Fenton, regional director of public health, London in NHS England and the Office for Health Improvement & Disparities, and president of the Faculty of Public Health
  • Dr Aidan Fowler, national patient safety director, NHS England and deputy chief medical officer, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Claire Fuller, chief executive, Surrey Heartlands Integrated Care System
  • Marie Gabriel, chair, North East London Integrated Care System and chair, NHS Race and Health Observatory
  • Sara Gorton, head of health, Unison
  • Michael Gove, secretary of state for levelling up, housing and communities
  • Professor Peter Johnson, national clinical director for cancer, NHS England
  • Samantha Jones, permanent secretary and chief operating officer, 10 Downing Street
  • Dame Jenny Harries, chief executive, UK Health Security Agency
  • Joe Harrison, chief executive, Milton Keynes Hospital Foundation Trust
  • Angela Hillery, chief executive, Northamptonshire Healthcare Foundation Trust and Leicestershire Partnership Trust
  • Dame Meg Hillier, chair, Public Accounts Committee
  • Dame Emily Lawson, head of delivery unit, 10 Downing Street
  • Dr Nikki Kanani, national medical director for primary care, NHS England
  • Professor Martin Marshall, chair, Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Sir Andrew Morris, chair, NHS Improvement (until July) and joint deputy chair of NHS England (July onwards)
  • Professor Neil Mortensen, president, Royal College of Surgeons
  • Danny Mortimer, chief executive, NHS Employers
  • Claire Murdoch, national director for mental health, NHS England and chief executive, Central and North West London Foundation Trust
  • Richard Murray, chief executive, The King’s Fund
  • Habib Naqvi, director, NHS Race and Health Observatory
  • James Nation, special adviser to chancellor of the exchequer and lead on domestic spending, HM Treasury
  • Donna Ockenden, chair, Nottingham University Hospitals maternity review
  • Dr Sean O’Kelly, chief inspector of hospitals, Care Quality Commission
  • Professor David Oliver, incoming president, Royal College of Physicians
  • Dame Cally Palmer, chief executive, The Royal Marsden Foundation Trust and national cancer director, NHS England
  • Ninjeri Pandit, delivery unit health and social care lead, 10 Downing Street
  • Clare Panniker, regional director East of England, NHS England
  • Dame Linda Pollard, chair, Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust and lead, government commissioned review of health and care leadership
  • Professor Mark Radford, deputy chief nursing officer, NHS England and chief nurse, Health Education England
  • Professor Julian Redhead, national clinical director for urgent and emergency care, NHS England
  • Professor Sir Mike Richards, chair, UK National Screening Committee
  • Dr Samantha Roberts, chief executive, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
  • Lord Simon Stevens, member, House of Lords
  • John Stewart, national director of specialised commissioning, NHS England
  • Andrea Sutcliffe, chief executive, Nursing and Midwifery Council
  • Ian Trenholm, chief executive, Care Quality Commission
  • Ed Waller, deputy chief financial officer for strategic finance, NHS England
  • Lesley Watts, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital Foundation Trust 
  • Rob Webster, chief executive, West Yorkshire Integrated Care System
  • Professor Sir Chris Whitty, chief medical officer for England and chief medical adviser to the government
  • Owen Williams, chief executive, Northern Care Alliance Foundation Trust
  • Sir Chris Wormald, permanent secretary, Department of Health and Social Care

The list also includes 20 “wildcards” – people and groups our judges feel who should be listened to over the next 12 months and have the potential to exert influence.

The Prime Minister and Chancellor, and their shadows, are excluded from consideration, as are this year’s judges

Also read:

HSJ100: Power reshapes around the new bosses

HSJ100 reveals how IT figures lead the list

HSJ100: The wildcards

HSJ100: Judges

HSJ100: Power reshapes around the new bosses