The HSJ80 lists the figures who will exercise the most power and/or influence in the English NHS and health policy over the next 12 months

Sponsored byintersystemslogo

The top 80 (listed alphabetically)

  • Caroline Abrahams, director, Age UK
  • Lord Victor Adebowale, chair, NHS Confederation
  • Professor John Appleby, director of research and chief economist, the Nuffield Trust
  • Edward Argar, minister of state, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Charlotte Augst, chief executive, National Voices
  • Sir David Behan, chair, Health Education England
  • Professor Sir John Bell, government life science champion, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Lord James Bethell, minister, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Baroness Nicola Blackwood, chair, Genomics England
  • Professor Tim Briggs, national director of clinical improvement, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Glen Burley, chief executive, George Eliot Hospital Trust, South Warwickshire Foundation Trust and Wye Valley Trust
  • Andy Burnham, mayor, Greater Manchester
  • Lord Patrick Carter, non-executive director, NHS Improvement
  • Baroness Camilla Cavendish, adviser on social care, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Anita Charlesworth, director of research, the Health Foundation
  • Simon Corben, director and head of profession NHS estates and facilities, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Saffron Cordery, deputy chief executive, NHS Providers
  • Dr Sue Crossland, president, Society for Acute Medicine
  • Dame Jackie Daniel, chief executive, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Professor Lord Ara Darzi, director, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College London
  • Sir Mike Deegan, chief executive, Manchester University Foundation Trust
  • Dr Jennifer Dixon, chief executive, the Health Foundation
  • Tara Donnelly, chief digital officer, NHSX
  • Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent, chief midwifery officer, NHS England
  • Nigel Edwards, chief executive, Nuffield Trust
  • Paul Farmer, chief executive, Mind, and chair, NHS England mental health taskforce
  • Dr Aidan Fowler, national director of patient safety in England, and deputy chief medical officer, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Dr Claire Fuller, senior responsible officer, Surrey Heartlands Health and Care Partnership
  • Marie Gabriel, chair of NHS Race and Health Observatory, NHS Confederation and NHS England
  • Professor Sarah Gilbert, professor of vaccinology, Oxford University
  • Professor Trisha Greenhalgh, professor of primary care health sciences, Oxford University
  • Dame Marianne Griffiths, chief executive, Western Sussex Hospitals Foundation Trust and Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals Trust
  • Professor Sir Chris Ham, chair, Coventry and Warwickshire Sustainability and Transformation Partnership, and co-chair of NHS Assembly
  • David Hare, chief executive, Independent Healthcare Provider Network
  • Professor Joe Harrison, chief executive, Milton Keynes University Hospital Foundation Trust
  • Professor Dame Sue Hill, chief scientific officer, NHS England
  • Meg Hillier, chair, Public Accounts Committee, House of Commons
  • Chris Hopson, chief executive, NHS Providers
  • Professor Peter Horby, professor of emerging infectious disease and global health, Oxford University, and chief investigator for the recovery trial
  • Celia Ingham-Clark, medical director for clinical effectiveness, NHS England
  • Professor Peter Johnson, national clinical director for cancer, NHS England
  • Dr Nikita Kanani, medical director of primary care, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • David Loughton, chief executive, the Royal Wolverhampton Trust
  • John Lawlor, chief executive, Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear Foundation Trust
  • Anne Longfield, Children’s Commissioner for England
  • Sir James Mackey, chief executive, Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust
  • Dr Clifford Mann, national clinical director for urgent and emergency care, NHS England
  • Sarah-Jane Marsh, director of testing, NHS Test and Trace, chief executive Birmingham Women’s and Children’s Foundation Trust, and chair, NHS England maternity and children and young people’s transformation programme
  • Michelle Mitchell, chief executive, Cancer Research UK
  • Danny Mortimer, chief executive, NHS Employers
  • Claire Murdoch, national mental health director, NHS England, and chief executive, Central and North West London Foundation Trust
  • Richard Murray, chief executive, King’s Fund
  • Dr Habib Naqvi, incoming director of the NHS Race and Health Observatory, NHS Confederation and NHS England, acting director, NHS Workforce Race Equality Standard, NHS England
  • Sharmila Nebhrajani, chair, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
  • Professor John Newton, director of health improvement, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Sir David Norgrove, chair, UK Statistics Authority
  • Clare Panniker, chief executive, Mid and South Essex Foundation Trust
  • Sonia Patel, chief information officer, NHSX
  • David Pearson, chair, Social Care Sector covid-19 Support Taskforce
  • Hugh Pym, health editor, BBC
  • Professor Mark Radford, chief nurse, Health Education England, and deputy chief nursing officer, NHS England
  • Joe Rafferty, chief executive, Mersey Care Foundation Trust
  • Professor Wendy Reid, acting chief executive, Health Education England
  • Professor Sir Mike Richards, chair, independent review of adult screening programmes, NHS England
  • Jin Sahota, chief executive, Supply Chain Co-ordination, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Roland Sinker, chief executive, Cambridge University Hospitals Foundation Trust
  • Professor Devi Sridhar, professor of global public health, Edinburgh University
  • Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
  • Matthew Style, director of strategic finance, NHS England
  • Ming Tang, national director, data and analytics, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Hugh Taylor, chair, Guy’s and St Thomas’ Foundation Trust
  • Dr Richard Vautrey, chair, BMA GPs committee
  • Laura Wade-Gery, chair, NHS Digital
  • Fergus Walsh, medical editor, BBC
  • Will Warr, senior special adviser to the Prime Minister on health, social care, life sciences, technology and AI
  • Rob Webster, chief executive South West Yorkshire Partnership Foundation Trust and lead West Yorkshire and Harrogate Integrated Care System
  • Professor Keith Willett, director for acute care, NHS England
  • Owen Williams, chief executive, Calderdale and Huddersfield Foundation Trust
  • Alwen Williams, group executive, Barts Health Trust
  • Matthew Winn, community health director NHS England and Improvement, and chief executive Cambridgeshire Community Services Trust

 Also read:

The ‘new’ HSJ100 reveals a more diverse leadership cohort

The revamped HSJ100 mirrors the current times

HSJ100: The wild cards

HSJ100: Exclusions

HSJ100: Judges

The ‘new’ HSJ100 reveals a more diverse leadership cohort