Based on the results of the last 15 years, we have drawn up an exclusion list of leaders who were certain to be part of our list, allowing a deeper dive beyond them

Sponsored byintersystemslogo




  • Jonathan Ashworth, shadow secretary of state for health and social care
  • Professor Ted Baker, chief inspector of hospitals, Care Quality Commission
  • Steve Barclay, chief secretary, HM Treasury
  • Dr Rosie Benneyworth, chief inspector of primary medical services, Care Quality Commission
  • Dr Kevin Cleary, chief investigator of mental health, Care Quality Commission
  • Keith Conradi, chief investigator, Healthcare Safety Investigations Branch
  • Dominic Cummings, chief adviser to the prime minister
  • Caroline Dinenage, minister of state for care, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Ian Dodge, national director for strategy, NHS England
  • Dr Navina Evans, chief executive, Health Education England
  • Will Garton, director of public services, HM Treasury
  • Sara Gorton, head of health, Unison
  • Matthew Gould, chief executive, NHSX, and board member Department of Health and Social Care
  • Professor Andrew Goddard, president, Royal College of Physicians
  • Kathryn Gutteridge, president, Royal College of Midwives
  • Matthew Hancock, secretary of state, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Baroness Dido Harding, chair, NHS Improvement, interim executive chair, National Institute for Health Protection
  • Jeremy Hunt, chair, House of Commons Health Select Committee
  • Dr Adrian James, president, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Boris Johnson, prime minister, HM government
  • Julian Kelly, chief financial officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Dame Donna Kinnair, chief executive, Royal College of Nursing
  • Dr Emily Lawson, chief commercial officer, NHS England
  • Professor Gillian Leng, chief executive, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
  • Professor Martin Marshall, chair, Royal College of General Practitioners
  • Professor Jo Martin, president, Royal College of Pathologists
  • Charlie Massey, chief executive, General Medical Council
  • Ruth May, chief nursing officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Dr Edward Morris, president, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists
  • Professor Neil Mortensen, president, Royal College of Surgeons
  • Dr Chaand Nagpaul, chair, British Medical Association
  • Professor Stephen Powis, national medical director, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Lord David Prior, chair, NHS England
  • Amanda Pritchard, NHS England chief operating officer and chief executive NHS Improvement
  • Sir Keir Starmer, leader, Labour Party
  • Sir Simon Stevens, chief executive, NHS England
  • Rishi Sunak, chancellor of the exchequer, HM government
  • Andrea Sutcliffe, chief executive, Nursing and Midwifery Council
  • Ian Trenholm, chief executive, Care Quality Commission
  • Sir Patrick Vallance, chief scientific adviser, HM government
  • Professor Russell Viner, president, Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Professor Chris Whitty, chief medical officer, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Sarah Wilkinson, chief executive, NHS Digital
  • David Williams, director general finance and group operations, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Sir Chris Wormald, permanent secretary, Department of Health and Social Care

Also read:

The ‘new’ HSJ100 reveals a more diverse leadership cohort

The revamped HSJ100 mirrors the current times

HSJ80 full list: The most influential people in health

HSJ100: The wild cards

HSJ100: Judges