Clinicians, managers, patient advocates, academics and diversity champions are among the names on HSJ’s second BME Pioneers list, revealed tonight at an event in central London.

The 50 people on the list include Dr Shreelata Datta, consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist at King’s College Hospital; Ludlow Johnson, equality and human rights manager at South Central Ambulance Service Trust; Tiritega Mawaka, manager of continuing health care at Barking and Dagenham, Havering and Redbridge clinical commissioning groups; and Jagtar Singh, chair of Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust.

The list, supported by NHS Employers, the NHS Leadership Academy and the British Medical Association, recognises individuals from black and minority ethnic backgrounds making outstanding contributions to healthcare; people who, through their exceptional leadership abilities or their day to day example, are inspiring others and helping to shape and deliver excellent care for all.

The names were announced by HSJ editor Alastair McLellan.

Montage of BME pioneers

Alastair McLellan called HSJ BME Pioneers ‘one of the most important special supplements that we publish’

He said: “BME Pioneers remains one of the most important special supplements that we publish.

“There are, of course, diversity and equality initiatives galore out there. There are, too, many dedicated individuals who tirelessly promote this agenda at trust and community level.

“But, ultimately, improving representation comes down to a change of mindset and culture.

“We fully recognise just shining a spotlight on the reservoir of talent the NHS has at its disposal, but too often fails to draw upon, is not in itself going to change anything. But at the very least we hope it will give people pause for thought.

“More than that, our hope is it will help to chip away at the engrained – even unconscious – bias, prejudice and preconceptions that so often hold the NHS back; that it will send a powerful message about what the NHS is, isn’t and yet could be.”

The 50 names were chosen from a longlist of people nominated by HSJ readers online.