The HSJ100 seeks to indicate who will have the greatest influence over English health policy and the NHS in the 12 months from November 2012.

The HSJ team prepares a long list of candidates over the summer and early autumn. A panel of judges is put together that combines knowledge of influence in healthcare and represents most shades of opinion. Judges who are on this HSJ100 list were excluded from conversations about their own inclusion. The prime minister, deputy prime minister and chancellor were excluded.


Dr Shahid Ali Clinical lead, NHS Commissioning Board patients and intelligence directorate

Dame Christine Beasley Former chief nursing officer and non-executive director, NHS Trust Development Authority

Dame Ruth Carnall Chief executive, NHS London

Harry Cayton Chief executive, Professional Standards Authority

Jan Filochowski Chief executive, Great Ormond Street Foundation Trust

Professor David Fish Managing director, UCL Partners

Andrew Hine UK Head of Public Healthcare, KPMG

Baroness Judith Jolly Co-chair of the parliamentary party committee on health and social care, Liberal Democrats

Ed Macalister-Smith Interim chief executive, NHS BANES and Wilts PCT Cluster

Frank McKenna Managing director of healthcare, Harvey Nash

Alastair McLellan Editor, HSJ

Dr Mark Newbold Chief executive, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Jon Restell Chief executive, Managers in Partnership

Jo Revill Director of strategic communications, Royal College of Surgeons and ex communications adviser to former health secretary Alan Johnson

Sue Slipman Former director, Foundation Trust Network

Nick Timmins Senior fellow, King’s Fund and former public policy editor, Financial Times

Dr Richard Vautrey Deputy chair, BMA GPs committee

Dave West Chief reporter, HSJ

Sean Worth Consultant, Policy Exchange and former special adviser to David Cameron