Last night’s HSJ Patient Safety Awards celebrated the innovative work of frontline NHS teams in a year when the challenge and necessity of keeping the public safe had never been greater.

Finalists representing 159 entries converged on Manchester Central, where comedian, journalist and author Ayesha Hazarika announced the winners of 23 categories.

Patient Safety Team of the Year was St Luke’s Cancer Centre and the pharmacy team from Royal Surrey Foundation Trust, who achieved ambitious change to reduce the risk of covid infections of cancer patients.

This year saw the introduction of the Improving Care for Children and Young People Initiative of the Year, Primary Care Initiative of the Year and Patient Safety Pilot Project of the Year.

The awards took place during the two-day Patient Safety Congress and were deliberated upon by 125 judges over a two-stage process.

The Patient Safety Awards celebrate the teams at the frontline pushing the boundaries of patient safety and driving cultural change to minimise risk, enhance quality of care and ultimately save lives.

Winners of HSJ Patient Safety Awards 2021 revealed