Care services minister Phil Hope has lost his Corby seat to the Conservatives.

He lost to Tory Louise Bagshawe, who won with 22,886 votes compared with Mr Hope’s 20,935.

The other members of the Labour health team, apart from health secretary Andy Burnham, have also been ousted.

Health minister Mike O’Brien was defeated by Conservative candidate Dan Byles, who secured a majority of just 54.

Health minister Ann Keen lost her Brentford and Isleworth seat to Conservative opponent Mary Macleod, who polled almost 2,000 more votes.

Public health minister Gillian Merron received 16,105 votes, but it was not enough to beat Tory Karl McCartney who won 17,163.

Health secretary Andy Burnham held his Leigh seat with 24,295 votes to the Conservatives’ 9,284.

HSJ Post-Election Briefing - Monday 10th May 2010

Attend HSJ’s post-election briefing for an immediate reaction on what the general election result means for you and your organisation.

Places are limited - secure your place now at

Election 2010: a candidate watchlist for the NHS