Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Your browser is not accepting cookies. This means means you will have to log in each time you visit the site.
For the best experience of, please enable cookies.

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


Top 15 women

  • 1 Comment

The top 15 women in the HSJ100 2010

  • Dame Barbara Hakin, National managing director of commissioning development, Department of Health
  • Dr Clare Gerada, Chair, Royal College of GPs
  • Dame Sally Davies, Interim chief medical officer, Department of Health
  • Una O’Brien, Permanent secretary, Department of Health   
  • Dame Jo Williams, Chair, Care Quality Commission
  • Karen Jennings, Head of health, Unison
  • Dame Carol Black, National director of health and work
  • Ruth Carnall, Chief executive, NHS London
  • Anne Milton, Parliamentary under secretary of state for public health
  • Cynthia Bower, Chief executive, Care Quality Commission
  • Sophia Christie, Chief executive, NHS Birmingham East and North
  • Helen Bevan, Director of service transformation, NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement
  • Helen Bailey, Director of public services, Treasury
  • Christine Connolly, Chief information officer, Department of Health
  • Clare Chapman, Director of workforce, Department of Health
  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

  • Is this top paid women in 2010? The inclusion of Cynthia Bower suggests this list has nothing to do with popularity...

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

terms and conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.